• September 25, 2021

Two-time WNBA Defensive Player Of The Year Brittney Griner headlines 2015 WNBA All-Defensive Team

Phoenix Mercury center Brittney Griner, the 2015 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year headlines the 2015 WNBA All-Defensive Team. This marks the second consecutive All-Defensive First Team appearance for Griner, who this season became the first player to be named Defensive Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons since the Indiana Fever’s Tamika Catchings (2009, 2010).

Griner collected 11 First Team votes (55 points) from a panel of the WNBA’s 12 head coaches, who selected First and Second Teams by position.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own teams.  Players earned five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team vote.

Player, Team, Position, Votes

First Team

Brittney Griner, Phoenix Mercury, Center 55
Tamika Catchings,  Indiana Fever, Forward 51
Briann January, Indiana Fever, Guard 42
Angel McCoughtry, Atlanta Dream, Guard 39
Nneka Ogwumike, Los Angeles Sparks, Forward 18

Second Team

Kiah Stokes, New York Liberty, Center 36
Tanisha Wright, New York Liberty, Guard 25
DeWanna Bonner, Phoenix Mercury, Guard 24
Sancho Lyttle, Atlanta Dream, Forward 17
Tina Charles, New York Liberty, Forward 14

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 09-26-2015

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 09-27-2015