Saturday, August 24th, 2019

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announces the Class of 2019

Published on February 4, 2019


The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced the Class of 2019

  • Beth Bass (Contributor)
  • Joan Cronan (Contributor)
  • Nora Lynn Finch (Contributor)
  • Ticha Penicheiro (International Player)
  • Ruth Riley (Player)
  • Carolyn Bush Roddy (Veteran Player)
  • Valerie Still (Player)

The Class of 2019 will be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, receiving their coveted Eastman Trophy and Baron Championship Induction Ring, on June 8, 2019, in Knoxville, Tennessee.

In addition to inducting the Class of 2019, the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame will recognize key contributors from the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) for their contributions to the game with a display at the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame entitled “Trailblazers of the Game.” The AIAW will join nine other teams and organizations that have been recognized as “Trailblazers of the Game.” The AIAW was founded in 1971 to govern collegiate women’s athletics in the United States and was one of the key contributors to the significant advancements of women’s athletics at the collegiate level.

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year and which groups will be honored as “Trailblazers of the Game.” Voting is based on minimum candidate requirements, which include record of performance, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women’s basketball.

This post is part of the following threads: 2018-19 College Season, 2019 WNBA Season – ongoing stories on this site. View the thread timelines for more context on this post.


Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: