Monday, July 22nd, 2019

Six added to Wade Watch List at midseason

Published on February 5, 2019


The WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Selection Committee added six additional student-athletes to the “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the 2019 Wade Trophy. Players added to the preseason list: Bridget Carleton of Iowa State, Anriel Howard of Mississippi State, Kiara Leslie of North Carolina State, Beatrice Mompremier of Miami, Satou Sabally of Oregon and Destiny Slocum of Oregon State.

The WBCA will announce the four finalists for the honor in mid-March. The winner of the 2019 Wade Trophy will be announced April 4 in Tampa Bay, Florida, the site of the 2019 WBCA Convention and NCAA Women’s Final Four.

The Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001. Now in its 42nd year, the award is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen.

The 41-member 2019 “Wade Watch” list:

Player Institution Position Height Current Year
Kristine Anigwe California Center 6-4 Sr.
Kenisha Bell Minnesota Guard 5-9 RS Sr.
Allazia Blockton Marquette Guard 5-11 Sr.
Kalani Brown Baylor Center 6-7 Sr.
Bridget Carleton Iowa State Guard 6-1 Sr.
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M Guard 5-7 So.
Kaila Charles Maryland Guard 6-1 Jr.
Napheesa Collier Connecticut Forward 6-1 Sr.
Lauren Cox Baylor Forward 6-4 Jr.
Sophie Cunningham Missouri Guard 6-1 Sr.
Crystal Dangerfield Connecticut Guard 5-5 Jr.
Cierra Dillard Buffalo Guard 5-9 Sr.
Asia Durr Louisville Guard 5-10 Sr.
Megan Gustafson Iowa Forward 6-3 Sr.
Tyasha Harris South Carolina Guard 5-10 Jr.
Ruthy Hebard Oregon Forward 6-4 Jr.
Anriel Howard Mississippi State Forward 5-11 Grad.
Presley Hudson Central Michigan Guard 5-6 Sr.
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon Guard 5-11 Jr.
Paris Kea North Carolina Guard 5-9 RS Sr.
Jessica Kovatch St. Francis (PA) Guard 5-9 Sr.
Kitija Laksa South Florida Guard 6-0 Sr.
Kiara Leslie North Carolina State Guard 6-0 Grad.
Marina Mabrey Notre Dame Guard 5-11 Sr.
Darby Maggard Belmont Guard 5-5 Sr.
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse Guard 5-6 Jr.
Tynice Martin West Virginia Guard 5-11 Jr.
Teaira McCowan Mississippi State Center 6-7 Sr.
Macy Miller South Dakota State Guard 6-0 Sr.
Beatrice Mompremier Miami Forward 6-4 RS Jr.
Leaonna Odom Duke Forward 6-2 Jr.
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame Guard 5-8 Sr.
Caliya Robinson Georgia Forward 6-3 Sr.
Satou Sabally Oregon Forward 6-4 So.
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut Guard 6-3 Sr.
Jessica Shepard Notre Dame Forward 6-4 Sr.
Destiny Slocum Oregon State Guard 5-7 RS So.
Alanna Smith Stanford Forward 6-4 Sr.
Hallie Thome Michigan Center 6-5 Sr.
Brianna Turner Notre Dame Forward 6-3 Grad.
Jackie Young Notre Dame Guard 6-0 Jr.


This post is part of the thread: 2018-19 College Season – an ongoing story on this site. View the thread timeline for more context on this post.


Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: