2009 All-WNBA First and Second Teams announced

Phoenix Mercury star Diana Taurasi headlines the 2009 All-WNBA First Team. She led all vote-getters with 201 points while teammate Cappie Pondexter, who garnered her first All-WNBA selection, received 151 points. Two-time WNBA MVP and Seattle Storm forward/center Lauren Jackson finished second among all players with 179 points.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of national sportswriters and broadcasters. Players were selected by position and received five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team designation.

San Antonio Silver Stars guard Becky Hammon (169 points) and Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings (167 points) round out the First Team.

Taurasi, the 2009 Peak Performer for scoring, averaged a league-best 20.4 points this season, marking the third time in her career that she has averaged over 20 points. Pondexter ranked fourth among WNBA leaders in scoring (19.1 ppg) and tied for third in assists (5.0 apg). Jackson, who averaged 19.2 points, broke Lisa Leslie’s mark (287 games) for the fastest player in league history to 5,000 career points (259 games). Hammon posted a career-high scoring average (19.5 ppg) and tied her career best for assists (5.0 apg). Catchings set a career high with 99 steals on the season, one short of the WNBA record for a single-season, and led the league in steals per game (2.9) for a record fifth time.

For Taurasi, the selection is her fourth consecutive First Team honor and her sixth overall All-WNBA appearance. Jackson has been voted to six First Teams and one Second Team while Hammon makes her second appearance on the First Team and her fourth appearance overall. Catchings has been selected to seven All-WNBA teams, including four First Teams.

In honor of being named to the All-WNBA First and Second Teams, each player will receive a Tiffany & Co. designed trophy. In addition, $10,000 will be awarded to each member of the First Team, while each member of the Second Team will receive $5,000.

Diana Taurasi,Phoenix Mercury, Forward, 201
Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever, Forward, 167
Lauren Jackson, Seattle Storm, Forward/Center, 179
Becky Hammon, San Antonio Silver Stars, Guard, 169
Cappie Pondexter, Phoenix Mercury, Guard 151

Candace Parker, Los Angeles Sparks, Guard/Forward, 100
Sophia Young, San Antonio Silver Stars, Forward, 72
Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks, Center, 69
Katie Douglas, Indiana Fever, Guard, 138
Deanna Nolan, Detroit Shock, Guard 75

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Gameday Wednesday: WNBA Conference Finals tip off tonight on ESPN2

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2009-09-23

Data powered by Oddspedia