After Five Games the Phoenix Mercury win the 2009 WNBA Championship


Indiana Fever v Phoenix Mercury, Game 5
Finals MVP Diana Taurasi

For the second time in three seasons, the Phoenix Mercury won the WNBA title. Led by Diana Taurasi, the Mercury beat the Indiana Fever 94-86.

Taurasi, the Finals and league MVP scored 26 points. Teammate Cappie Pondexter had 24.

The Fever, playing their first ever Finals, were lead by Tammy Sutton-Brown. She scored 22 points. Jessica Davenport added a career-high 18 and Tamika Catchings had 16 points and nine rebounds.

The Phoenix Mercury won its first championship in 2007.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

First Annual Social Media Awards

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2009-10-09

Data powered by Oddspedia