Candidates on the 2009-10 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list announced

The Atlanta Tip Off Club announced the 50 candidates on the 2009-10 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list Wednesday. The club’s Board of Selectors compiles the list and bases its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2009-10 college basketball season.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the women’s collegiate basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in San Antonio. In late February, the club will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. The Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow the list to four finalists in March.

The list:

  • Jayne Appel, Stanford, Center, Senior
  • Ashley Barlow, Notre Dame, Guard, Senior
  • Jessica Breland, North Carolina, Forward, Senior
  • Tina Charles, UCONN, Center, Senior
  • Alysha Clark, Middle Tennessee, Forward, Senior
  • Allyssa DeHaan, Michigan State, Center, Senior
  • Elena Delle Donne, Delaware, Forward/Guard, Freshman
  • Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, Guard, Freshman
  • Dawn Evans, James Madison, Guard, Junior
  • Rachele Fitz, Marist, Forward, Senior
  • Tyra Grant, Penn State, Guard, Senior
  • Alexis Gray-Lawson, California, Guard, Senior
  • Kelsey Griffin Nebraska, Forward, Senior
  • Brittney Griner, Baylor, Center, Freshman
  • Lele Hardy, Clemson, Forward/Guard, Senior
  • Amber Harris, Xavier, Forward, Junior
  • Tiffany Hayes, UCONN, Guard, Sophomore
  • Allison Hightower, LSU, Guard, Senior
  • Ashley Houts, Georgia, Guard, Senior
  • Jareica Hughes, UTEP, Guard, Senior
  • Amy Jaeschke, Northwestern, Center, Junior
  • Shenise Johnson, Miami, Forward, Sophomore
  • Jantel Lavender, Ohio State, Center, Junior
  • Italee Lucas, North Carolina, Guard, Junior
  • Gabriela Marginean, Drexel, Forward, Senior
  • Danielle McCray, Kansas, Forward/Guard, Senior
  • Jacinta Monroe, Florida State, Forward, Senior
  • Alex Montgomery, Georgia Tech, Forward/Guard, Junior
  • Maya Moore, UCONN, Forward, Junior
  • Jené Morris, San Diego State, Guard, Senior
  • Deirdre Naughton, DePaul, Guard, Senior
  • Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, Forward, Junior
  • Ta’Shia Phillips, Xavier, Center, Junior
  • Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford, Guard, Junior
  • Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State, Guard, Sophomore
  • Brittainey Raven, Texas, Guard, Senior
  • Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State, Guard, Senior
  • Danielle Robinson, Oklahoma, Guard, Junior
  • Angel Robinson, Marquette, Guard, Junior
  • Jenna Smith, Illinois, Center, Senior
  • Da’Shena Stevens, St. John’s, Forward, Sophomore
  • Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee, Forward/Guard, Sophomore
  • Helena Sverrisdottir, TCU, Guard, Junior
  • Ashley Sweat, Kansas State, Forward, Senior
  • Carolyn Swords, Boston College, Center, Junior

Since 2005, fans have participated in determining the trophy winner. Fan voting via text messaging will account for 25 percent of the final results, more than any other national college basketball award.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Will Lauren Jackson skip Russia and play for the Canberra Capitals?

Read Next

Top 25 roundup: Today’s schedule and game notes