Maya Moore named co-winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup Award

University of Connecticut star player Maya Moore is the co-winner of the 2010 Honda-Broderick Cup Award. She shares the honor with Penn State volleyball player Megan Hodge. Moore is third athlete from the UConn to receive the prestigious honor given by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards.

“This year’s history-making tie for our top award is highly unusual,” said Judith R. Holland, co-founder and executive director of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards. “And while it is extremely rare for us to have a tie for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year, in this case it is quite fortuitous, as we are delighted to be able to give the award to two such outstanding athletes and exemplary young women as Maya and Megan. They are both very worthy recipients and we are proud to have them join our legacy.”

The only other co-winners were Southern California basketball player Cheryl Miller and Florida swimmer Tracy Caulkins in 1984.

Moore helped her team achieve an NCAA record of 78 consecutive wins over two seasons, as well as its sixth undefeated season and second straight NCAA National Championship. She ended the season averaging 18.9 points and 8.3 rebounds, and scored in double figures 34 times. She finished the 2009-2010 season with 736 points, the second most points scored in a season by a UConn player (the most was 754 pts in 2008-09, also achieved by Moore herself).

She is also the first junior in the program’s history to score over 2000 points. She received both the 2010 NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Player and Dayton Regional’s Most Outstanding Player award and is a three-time AP First Team All-American. A Sports Marketing and Media major with a 3.85 GPA, she has been honored this year as the Big East Scholar Athlete of the Year, ESPN Academic All-America of the Year, CoSIDA Academic First-Team, 2010 Wade Trophy winner and Wooden Award finalist.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2010-06-21

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2010-06-22

Data powered by Oddspedia