Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame: Induction and coverage roundup

Teresa Weatherspoon, Rebecca Lobo, Leta Andrews, Teresa Edwards, Gloria Ray, Chris Weller. Photo: Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame (WBHOF) announced its 12th group of inductees during last season’s WNBA All-Star game at Mohegan Sun Casino in Uncasville, Connecticut. They are:

  • Leta Andrews – The winningest high school girl’s basketball coach in the U.S.
  • Teresa Edwards – The most decorated Olympic athlete, with four gold medals and one bronze. Former ABL, WNBA and Georgia player.
  • Rebecca Lobo – Former UConn player who led the Huskies to their first national championship with an undefeated record in 1995. Former WNBA player. Currently an ESPN analyst.
  • Gloria Ray – The first women’s Athletic Director at the University of Tennessee. Led the drive to plan and construct the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame
  • Teresa Weatherspoon – One of the original players in the WNBA. New York Liberty legend. Member of the 1988 Olympic Gold Medal team. Currently head coach at Louisiana Tech.
  • Chris Weller – Legendary Maryland coach. Coached for 25 seasons average nearly 20 wins per season at her alma mater.

The WBHOF held its 2010 Induction Weekend on Friday and Saturday in Knoxville.

Coverage from around the Web:

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2010-06-13

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2010-06-14

Data powered by Oddspedia