Seattle wins second WNBA title


Seattle 87, Atlanta 84

Lauren Jackson, Finals MVP

Box Score || Video || Parade Info

For the second time in the history of the franchise, the Seattle Storm wins a WNBA championship. They defeated the Atlanta Dream 87-84 in front of a crowd of 10, 522 at Philips Arena in game three of a best-of-five series.

The Storm had a storybook season, with an undefeated record on their home court. During the regular season, they went 17-0 at KeyArena. At the end of the playoffs and finals, the streak was 21-0.

In Thursday night’s game, the Storm opened with a 10-0 run. The scoring included a pair of treys by guard Tanisha Wright. The Dream had difficulty getting baskets and the frustration led to them committing two technical fouls—one called on assistant coach Carol Ross and another on Angel McCoughtry.

Seattle continued to lead for most of the second quarter. The Dream did not back down and in the last minute of the half, a three-pointer from Angel McCoughtry put Atlanta up by one point, 44-43, going into the halftime.

The Storm and Dream exchanged the lead several times shortly after the break but at the end of the third the Storm led going into the fourth.

Swin Cash carried Seattle with 18 points. Lauren Jackson, named the Finals MVP had 15 for the Storm.

For Atlanta, McCoughtry had 35.

This year the Storm marked three straight seasons with 20-plus wins. Only four other franchises in WNBA history have accomplished that feat:

  • Detroit Shock (2006-08)
  • Houston Comets (1998-2000)
  • Indiana Fever (2005-07)
  • Los Angeles Sparks (1999-2004)

The Seattle Storm front office is hosting a postgame 2010 WNBA Championship rally. Fans are encouraged to join Doppler, Matt Pitman and in-arena host Shellie Hart on KeyArena’s West Plaza located on the Seattle Center Campus.

Championship Parade and Celebration

Friday, Sept. 17 at 7 p.m.
WNBA Championship Parade will begin at 7 p.m.
WNBA Championship Celebration will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m.

Fans are encouraged to begin lining the streets starting from KeyArena’s West Plaza and working their way backwards along 1st Ave. towards the start of the parade route. The Championship Parade will be followed by a Championship Celebration inside KeyArena. View the Parade Map

Fans should enter through the west doors at KeyArena.
This event is FREE and open to the public. Seating is on a first come, first serve basis.
KeyArena’s consession stands will not be open. Fans, however, are allowed to bring their own food and beverages (non-alcoholic).
Free Coca-Cola products will be available while supplies last.
Top Pot Doughnuts will be available on site for sales in the Storm Team Shop and on 1st Ave after the parade.
The Seattle Storm Team Shop will be open from 10 a.m. until through the conclusion of the event.

Previous WNBA Champions

2009-Phoenix Mercury
2008-Detroit Shock
2007-Phoenix Mercury
2006-Detroit Shock
2005-Sacramento Monarchs
2004-Seattle Storm
2003-Detroit Shock
2002-Los Angeles Sparks
2001-Los Angeles Sparks
2000-Houston Comets
1999-Houston Comets
1998-Houston Comets
1997-Houston Comets

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Top ten teams in three preseason women’s college basketball polls, Xavier in the mix

Read Next

Oklahoma mourns loss of former player, Rosalind C. Ross

Data powered by Oddspedia