• September 27, 2021

USA Basketball announces 2010 FIBA World Championship team

USA Basketball announced the 12 women’s basketball players who will represent the United States at the 2010 FIBA World Championship, Sept. 23 – Oct. 3 in the Czech Republic. The player selections, made by the USA Basketball Women’s National Team Player Selection Committee, were announced following a two and a halfweek training camp that included four exhibition games.

The squad:

  • Sue Bird (Seattle Storm)
  • Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever)
  • Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury)
  • Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky
  • Swin Cash (Seattle Storm)
  • Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars)
  • Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun)
  • Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury)
  • Asjha Jones (Connecticut Sun)
  • Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream)
  • Maya Moore (University of Connecticut)
  • Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx)

Kara Lawson (Connecticut Sun) and Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx) were cut from the team.

[More from USA Basketball]

Read Previous

President Obama congratulates the Seattle Storm

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2010-09-22