Maya Moore wins her second Wooden Award

Connecticut’s Maya Moore won her second John R. Wooden Award Friday night in Los Angeles. The winner of the honor for the best women’s college player of the year was decided by the media who selected and ranked five players.

Moore, who finished her career as UConn’s all-time leading scorer with 3,036 career points, is the third woman to win the award twice. Seimone Augustus (LSU) won in 2006 and 2007 and Candace Parker (Tennessee) won in 2008 and 2009.

In the voting, Moore received 678 points, followed by Brittney Griner (Baylor) with 566; Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga) with 283; Jeanette Pohlen (Stanford) with 198; and Nnemkadi Ogwumike (Stanford) with 185. Moore, Griner, and Ogwumike attended the awards ceremony while Vandersloot and Pohlen were in Connecticut preparing for the WNBA draft.

Women’s John R. Wooden Award All-Time Winners

Year Player School
2010 Tina Charles Connecticut
2009 Maya Moore Connecticut
2008 Candace Parker University of Tennessee
2007 Candace Parker University of Tennessee
2006 Seimone Augustus Louisiana State University
2005 Seimone Augustus Louisiana State University
2004 Alana Beard Duke University
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

One basketball life to live

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 2011-04-09