Nation’s top players honored in Indianapolis

INDIANAPOLIS – The nation’s top women’s college basketball players received honors Saturday morning as festivities for the Final Four kicked off in Indianapolis. Ten players were selected for the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) All-America Basketball Team. The selection committee picked the group from a list of 40 finalists at an in-person meeting held during the 2011 WBCA National Convention in progress in Indianapolis. Among the group’s winners was Maya Moore who was awarded the year’s Wade Trophy Award. It was the third time the Connecticut senior received the honor, becoming the first-ever three-time winner.

  • Danielle Adams, Texas A&M University
  • Skylar Diggins, University of Notre Dame
  • Brittney Griner, Baylor University
  • Amber Harris, Xavier University
  • Shenise Johnson, University of Miami
  • Jantel Lavender, Ohio State University
  • Maya Moore, University of Connecticut
  • Nneka Ogwumike, Stanford University
  • Shekinna Stricklen, University of Tennessee
  • Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga University
All-America Team Honorable Mentions for NCAA Division I

Kachine Alexander

LaSondra Barrett

Kelsey Bolte

Cierra Bravard

Victoria Dunlap

Dawn Evans

Keisha Hampton

Tiffany Hayes

Celeste Hoewisch

Adrienne Johnson

Glory Johnson

Kalisha Keane

Alex Montgomery

Natalie Novosel

Kayla Pedersen

Devereaux Peters

Porsha Phillips

Ta’Shia Phillips

Jeanette Pohlen

Lauren Prochaska

Samantha Quigley

Elizabeth Repella

Angel Robinson

Danielle Robinson

Sugar Rodgers

Odyssey Sims

Carolyn Swords

Jasmine Thomas

Tyra White

Riquna Williams

University of Iowa

Louisiana State University

Iowa State University

Florida State University

University of Kentucky

James Madison University

DePaul University

University of Connecticut

University of Wisconsin, Green Bay

Louisiana Tech University

University of Tennessee

Michigan State University

Georgia Institute of Technology

University of Notre Dame

Stanford University

University of Notre Dame

University of Georgia

Xavier University

Stanford University

Bowling Green State University

DePaul University

West Virginia University

Marquette University

University of Oklahoma

Georgetown University

Baylor University

Boston College

Duke University

Texas A&M University

University of Miami

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

In-between time news

Read Next

Foes and friends: Baylor’s Brittney Griner and Texas A&M’s Danielle Adams