Wednesday, January 20th, 2021

Women’s basketball players nominated for 2011 ESPY awards

Published on June 24, 2011


UPDATE: Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury) won for Best WNBA Player; Maya Moore (Connecticut) won for Best College Female Athlete. Last year Taurasi and Moore won the same awards.

ESPN is set to officially announce nominees for 2011 ESPY awards tonight at 8 p.m. Chris Connelly and Michelle Beadle will host the one-hour show which will also relive some favorite ESPY moments of the past. The show will re-air Saturday, June 25, at 4 p.m. on ABC as part of the ESPN Sports Saturday programming block.

Saturday Night Live “Weekend Update” anchor Seth Meyers returns to hosting duties for the ESPY ceremony on Wednesday, July 13, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN/ESPNHD from the Nokia Theatre at L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles.

Fans determine the winners by voting online at, as well as on ESPN Mobile Web at June 24 through July 9. Fans can also follow the show on Twitter at @ESPYs.

Women’s basketball players nominated:

Best Female Athlete
Lauren Jackson (Seattle Storm)
Maya Moore (Connecticut, WNBA/Minnesota Lynx)

Record-breaking Performance
UConn Women’s Basketball

Texas A&M Women’s Basketball

WNBA Player
Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever)
Lauren Jackson (Seattle Storm)
Cappie Pondexter (New York Liberty)
Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury)

College Female Athlete
Maya Moore (Connecticut)

Last year Moore won best female college athlete and Taurasi won best WNBA player.


Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: