UConn signee Breanna Stewart wins the 2012 Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Award

The McDonald’s All American Games and Morgan Wootten, Hall of Fame coach and selection committee chair, named Connecticut signee Breanna Stewart as a winner of the 2012 Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Award for her accomplishments on and off the court.

From the committee:

Stewart, the 2012 Naismith and WBCA Player of the Year from Cicero-North Syracuse High School in North Syracuse, N.Y., is the 11th annual female winner, joining Elizabeth Williams (2011), Maya Moore (2007), Tina Charles (2006), Candace Parker (2004) and Ivory Latta (2003), among others. Stewart won the honor over finalists Malina Howard (Twinsburg High School – Twinsburg, Ohio), Moriah Jefferson (Home Schooled – Glenn Heights, Texas), Alexis Jones (MacArthur High School – Irving, Texas), Jewell Loyd (Niles West High School – Lincolnwood, Ill.) and Morgan Tuck (Bolingbrook High School – Bolingbrook, Ill.).

The Morgan Wootten Award is given to the best male and female McDonald’s All American players who exemplify outstanding character, exhibit leadership and embody the values of being a student-athlete in the classroom and the community. McDonald’s established the award in Wootten’s honor to pay tribute to his unprecedented achievements as a teacher and coach. The official award presentation will take place at the McDonald’s All American Games awards banquet on March 27 in Chicago, Ill.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 03-13-2012

Read Next

WNIT play kicks off out West