Thursday, February 25th, 2021

USA Basketball announces first 11 Players for 2012 Olympic Team

Published on March 30, 2012


USA Basketball announced the first 11 members of the 2012 U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team Friday. The team includes a trio of two-time Olympic gold medalists, four athletes who have each earned one Olympic gold medal and four new members. The squad will compete for the USA’s fifth-consecutive Olympic gold medal in London this summer.

One slot remains opens on the team. The last member will be selected at a later date.

Named to their third Olympic team were Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), and Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury), all of whom won gold medals at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games. Competing in her second Olympics after winning gold in Athens in 2004 is Swin Cash (Chicago Sky); while Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky) and Candace Parker (Los Angeles Sparks) captured their Olympic gold medal in Beijing in 2008. Playing on the Olympic stage for the first time will be Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx) and Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx).

The USA Basketball Women’s National Team Player Selection Committee selected the team with approval from the USA Basketball Board of Directors and pending final approval by the U.S. Olympic Committee.


Tags: , ,

Readers Comments (1)

  1. M.J. says:

    Unless she chose not to be on this team, I see absolutely no reason why CAPPIE PONDEXTER is not on the team. She is after all, one of the best in the game (certaintly at the guard position). I also think Candice Dupree could have received one of those forward spots. FIVE connecticut players, wow.

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: