Baylor center Brittney Griner headlines 2012-13 preseason “Wade Watch List”

Devereaux Peters and Baylor's Brittney Griner. Photo Robert Franklin, All Rights Reserved.
Baylor’s Brittney Griner during the 2012 Final Four. Photo Robert Franklin, All Rights Reserved.

From the WBCA:

Baylor center Brittney Griner, the 2012 State Farm Wade Trophy winner, headlines the 2012-13 preseason “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the prestigious award, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Connecticut leads all schools with three players on the 25-member preseason list. Five schools – defending national champion Baylor, Duke, Kansas, Nebraska and Penn State – are represented by two players each.

Now in its 36th year, the State Farm Wade Trophy is named in honor of the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. Regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball,” the award is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA.

The preseason list is composed of top NCAA Division I women’s basketball players who best embody Wade’s spirit from 18 institutions and eight conferences. A committee of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States compiled the list using the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

Notre Dame’s Skylar Diggins, Delaware’s Elena Della Donne and Georgetown’s Sugar Rodgers join Griner on the preseason list for the third straight year. Alex Bentley of Penn State, Carolyn Davis of Kansas, Stefanie Dolson and Bria Hartley of Connecticut, Chiney Ogwumike of Stanford and Odyssey Sims of Baylor are making their second appearance on the list.

The BIG EAST Conference placed seven players on the preseason list, followed by the Big Ten and Big 12 conferences with five each, the Atlantic Coast Conference with three, the Southeastern Conference with two, and the Colonial Athletic Association and Ohio Valley and Pac-12 conferences with one each.

Here is the complete list of preseason candidates for the 2013 State Farm Wade Trophy in alphabetical order:

Player Institution Position Year
Alex Bentley Penn State Guard Senior
Heather Butler UT Martin Guard Junior
Carolyn Davis Kansas Forward Senior
Elena Delle Donne Delaware Forward Senior
Skylar Diggins Notre Dame Guard Senior
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Junior
Christina Foggie Vanderbilt Guard Junior
Chassidy Fussell Texas Guard Junior
Angel Goodrich Kansas Guard Senior
Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Junior
Brittney Griner Baylor Center Senior
Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Junior
Tayler Hill Ohio State Guard Senior
Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Junior
Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard Junior
Anna Martin DePaul Guard Senior
A’dia Mathies Kentucky Guard Senior
Lindsey Moore Nebraska Guard Senior
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut Forward Sophomore
Chiney Ogwumike Stanford Forward Junior
Sugar Rodgers Georgetown Guard Senior
Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Junior
Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Junior
Alyssa Thomas Maryland Guard Junior
Elizabeth Williams Duke Center Sophomore
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 09-17-2012

Read Next

President Obama honors the Minnesota Lynx at the White House, Houston and Hornbuckle not on trip

Data powered by Oddspedia