Connecticut Sun announces All-Decade Team

The Connecticut Sun announced its All-Decade Team prior to defeating the Indiana Fever, 73-67, on Wednesday night at Mohegan Sun Arena. The unveiling of the team was part of a season-long celebration of its 10th anniversary.

Fans voted online for their top 10 players from a list of the 55 players who have competed in a regular season game since the franchise relocated to Connecticut from Orlando before to the 2003 season. Media who cover the Sun also voted.

The final list includes five members of the 2012 team: Tina Charles, Asjha Jones, Kara Lawson, Renee Montgomery and Tan White. The first Sun team also includes Katie Douglas (Fever), Taj McWilliams-Franklin (Minnesota Lynx), former Sun point guard Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx) and the late Margo Dydek. Douglas was on hand for the presentation. Each player was presented with a bouquet of flowers and a framed commemorative poster by Sienko, Sun CEO Mitchell Etess and head coach Mike Thibault.

Lawson led the Sun in the victory over the Fever with 23 points and six assists. Charles added 17 points and 12 rebounds.

“It’s nice to see a list that is representative of the entire decade of our existence here in Connecticut,” said Sun Vice President and General Manager Chris Sienko. “We have had an amazing collection of athletes wear the Sun uniform over the last 10 seasons. All of them have contributed to our success. Our fans have done a wonderful job picking an All-Decade team from that stellar group.”

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 09-19-2012

Read Next

Sun celebrate the past, look to the future as they defeat Fever 73-67