Six women’s basketball players among 10 finalists for 2013 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award

Diverse: Issues In Higher Education magazine and the NCAA announced the finalists for the 2013 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award. The winners will be profiled in the April 11 edition of the publication. The finalists were chosen from over 500 outstanding minority student-athletes.

The 10 finalists for women include six basketball players. To be included, students have to compete in an intercollegiate sport; maintain a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.2; and be active on their campuses or in their communities.


Female Finalists Sport Institution
Jessica N. Harlee Basketball West Virginia
Kastine E. Evans Basketball Kentucky
Kody M. Burke Basketball North Carolina State
Monique L. Weathers Basketball Benedict College
Shayla J. Bivins Basketball Georgia Tech
TaKenya T. Nixon Basketball Eastern Illinois
Michelle M. Ikoma Gymnastics North Carolina
Alexandra B. Couzo Soccer Felician College
Ifeatu I. Okafor Track/Cross Country Texas Tech
Minami K. Yamamura Gymnastics UC Davis
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

2013 Postseason WNIT: Schedule, results and recaps

Read Next

A Special Dishin & Swishin Podcast: Both sides of the bubble, Jose Fernandez and USF are in, Tricia Cullop and Toledo are not