• October 15, 2021

Becky Hammon receives 2014 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

From the league:

Becky Hammon of the San Antonio Stars was named the recipient of the 2014 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. The first-time winner received 24 of 37 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters.

Hammon, who is currently in her 16th WNBA season, announced on July 23 that she would retire from the league at the conclusion of the 2014 season. Hammon started her WNBA career with the New York Liberty in 1999 as an undrafted player out of Colorado State. The six-time WNBA All-Star quickly became a fan favorite at MSG and a valued member of the WNBA for her leadership on and off the court. In July 2011, she was named one of the WNBA’s Top 15 Players, which recognized the most influential players since the league’s inception in 1997. Hammon, who joined the Stars in 2007, currently ranks seventh in WNBA history in points (5,858), fourth in assists (1,713) and sixth in games played (451).

Hammon added to her basketball legacy on Aug. 4, 2014, when the San Antonio Spurs announced that she would join their coaching staff as an assistant coach, making her the first full-time female assistant coach in NBA history. Known as a natural born leader and a basketball lifer, Hammon is seen as a perfect fit to break barriers in the world of sports. She is widely known throughout the league for her dedication, leadership, and hard work, and is a proven role model to youth who aspire to make a name for themselves.

“Knowing Kim Perrot and being a coach during her time in the league, I think it is really special that Becky receives this award,” said Stars Coach Dan Hughes. “I think it means a lot to the league. It shows people recognize not only the kind of player she is, but the kind of sportsmanship she has exhibited this season and throughout her career. I am just very happy for Becky.”

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.

In honor of being named the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award winner, Hammon will receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co. An additional $5,000 will be designated to the charity of her choice.

Below are the voting results of the 2014 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of past recipients.


Points Player Team
24 Becky Hammon San Antonio Stars
4 Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx
2 Briann January Indiana Fever
2 Penny Taylor Phoenix Mercury
1 Camille Lyttle Seattle Storm
1 Courtney Vandersloot Chicago Sky
1 Kelsey Griffin Connecticut Sun
1 Kia Vaughn Washington Mystics
1 Tina Charles New York Liberty


Year Player Team
2014 Becky Hammon San Antonio Stars
2013 Swin Cash
Tamika Catchings
Chicago Sky
Indiana Fever
2012 Kara Lawson Connecticut Sun
2011 Sue Bird
Ruth Riley
Seattle Storm
San Antonio Stars
2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs
2008 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Stars
2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever
2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets
2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun
2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx
2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs
2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury
2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty
2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting
1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 08-22-2014

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 08-23-2014