Monday, April 12th, 2021

2015 Preseason WNIT field announced

Published on June 9, 2015


The 2015 Preseason Women’s National Invitation Tournament field was announced today. The tournament opens Nov. 13 with round one. Round two will be played Nov. 15-17; semifinals will be Nov. 19; and the championship is set for Sunday, Nov. 22 at 3 p.m. ET. The championship game will be nationally televised live on CBS Sports Network.

Teams that lose in the first two rounds will play consolation games on Nov. 20-21. All games are hosted by participating schools. The official tournament bracket with first-round opponents, game dates, and times will be announced in June.

The WNIT field consists of:

  • Alabama State (SWAC)
  • Baylor (Big 12)
  • Chattanooga (Southern)
  • Dartmouth (Ivy)
  • DePaul (Big East)
  • Drexel (Colonial)
  • Indiana (Big Ten)
  • Jacksonville (Atlantic Sun)
  • McNeese State (Southland)
  • Siena (Metro Atlantic)
  • South Florida (American)
  • Southern Illinois (MVC)
  • Southern Miss (Conference USA)
  • St. Bonaventure (Atlantic 10)
  • Tennessee State (Ohio Valley)
  • UT Arlington (Sun Belt)

Ten of the 16 teams advanced to postseason play in 2015. This is the Preseason WNIT debut for Alabama State, Jacksonville, Southern Miss, St. Bonaventure, Tennessee State and UT Arlington. Teams making their first return to the event are Dartmouth (2006), DePaul (2010), Siena (2002), South Florida (2004) and Southern Illinois (1997). Others with multiple appearances are Drexel (2011, 2005), Indiana (2008, 1998), McNeese State (2011, 2004), Baylor (2011, 2006, 1998) and Chattanooga (2011, 2005, 2000).

The No.-1 ranked Baylor Lady Bears won the 2011 Preseason championship after defeating No. 2 Notre Dame 94-81 in front of a sold-out home crowd. Baylor went on that season to capture the NCAA Tournament Championship and finish with a 40-0 record.



Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: