• September 28, 2022

John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 20

The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced its John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 20. Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts, the list is comprised of 20 student-athletes who are the frontrunners for the sport’s most prestigious individual honor, based on their performances during the first half of the 2015-2016 season.

In early February, the Late Season Top 20 list will be announced. Fifteen top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA will be submitted to the voters on the ballot prior to the NCAA Tournament. Every year, players have made the ballots that are not on the preseason or midseason lists. Voters are permitted to take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament when casting the ballot. The five-woman Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament.

Connecticut, had three players selected: Breanna Stewart (2015 John R. Wooden Award winner), Morgan Tuck and Moriah Jefferson. Three schools boasted two considerations each: Maryland (Brionna Jones and Shatori Walker-Kimbrough), Ohio State (Ameryst Alston and Kelsey Mitchell) and South Carolina (Tiffany Mitchell and A’ja Wilson). Only one player not on the Preseason Top 30 was named to the Midseason Top 20: Rachel Benham of Minnesota.

In terms of conferences, the Big Ten leads the way with seven selections, followed by The American and SEC with four; the ACC and Pac-12 with two; and the Big 12 with one selection.

The 40th annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award will take place in early April.

2015-16 John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 20 List

Name Height Class Position School Conference
Jillian Alleyne 6-3 Sr. F Oregon Pac-12
Ameryst Alston 5-9 Sr. G Ohio State Big Ten
Rachel Banham 5-9 Sr. G Minnesota Big Ten
Nia Coffey 6-1 Jr. F Northwestern Big Ten
Nina Davis# 5-11 Jr. F Baylor Big-12
Diamond DeShields 6-1 Soph. G Tennessee SEC
Moriah Jefferson 5-7 Sr. G Connecticut The American
Brionna Jones 6-3 Jr. C Maryland Big Ten
Kelsey Mitchell 5-8 Soph. G Ohio State Big Ten
Tiffany Mitchell# 5-9 Sr. G South Carolina SEC
Kelsey Plum 5-8 Jr. G Washington Pac-12
Aerial Powers 6-0 Jr. F Michigan State Big Ten
Azurá Stevens 6-6 Soph. F/G Duke ACC
Breanna Stewart*# 6-4 Sr. F Connecticut The American
Morgan Tuck 6-2 Jr. F Connecticut American
Brianna Turner 6-3 Soph. F Notre Dame ACC
Victoria Vivians 6-1 Soph. F Mississippi State SEC
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough 5-11 Jr. G Maryland Big Ten
Courtney Williams 5-8 Sr. G South Florida The American
A’ja Wilson 6-5 Soph. F South Carolina SEC

*indicates player selected as 2014-15 Wooden Award Player of the Year
# indicates player selected to the 2014-15 Wooden Award All American Team

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Q&A with Candace Parker: The WNBA star on her offseason activities, the Sparks and more

Read Next

Cal’s star freshman forward Kristine Anigwe on a quest for self-improvement