Oregon State wins first Pac-12 tournament in program history

Oregon State (28-4, 16-2 Pac-12), the No. 8 team in the nation, won the Pac-12 tournament for the first time in program history Sunday night at KeyArena in Seattle with a 69-57 triumph over UCLA (24-8, 14-4). The Beavers are also regular season conference co-champions.

The two-time Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Beavers center Ruth Hamblin, led her team with 23 points, a career-high 20 rebounds and five blocks. Pac-12 Player of the Year Jamie Weisner and the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player added19 points and five rebounds on Sunday. Weisner was the first-ever OSU player to earn the MOP honor.

“I don’t think I’ve ever cried after a win but that happened tonight,” Weisner said. “I’m just blessed to be part of this program. We came a long way in four years and I wouldn’t change a thing.”

Sydney Wiese was also key for the Beavers with 21 points.

OSU dominated UCLA the entire game. UCLA’s only lead came at 9:31 in the first quarter. However, the Beavers quickly took control to finish the period with a 20-12 lead and never looked back. The Beavers finished the first half on a 12-0 run, building the largest halftime lead in a tournament final game. UCLA managed a 16-2 run in the 4th quarter to cut OSU’s lead to nine points.

OSU outrebounded UCLA 50-24 and had over twice as many second-chance points, 19 to UCLA’s seven. OSU’s 50 rebounds were the most in a tournament final game.

Hamblin’s five blocks put her in the record books as the Pac-12 all-time leader for blocked shots at 405. Her third double-double of the tournament made her only the fourth player in tournament history to do so (Kristine Anigwe of Cal also did so in this Tournament.)

“This is an unreal feeling,” Hamblin said. “The Pac-12 is so competitive … we worked so hard and we played like our lives were on the line.”

Jordin Canada led the Bruins with 17 pints while Kori Korver added 10.

With the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament, OSU awaits their destination and first round opponent during the NCAA Selection Show on March 14.

Most Outstanding Player: Jamie Weisner, Oregon State **

All-Tournament Team

  • Kristine Anigwe, California*
  • Jordin Canada, UCLA*
  • Ruth Hamblin, Oregon State* (also on 2014 team)
  • Kelsey Plum, Washington*
  • Jamie Weisner, Oregon State**
  • Sydney Wiese, Oregon State* (also on 2014 team)

*Also First Team, All-Pac-12
**Also Co-Player of the Year and First Team, All-Pac-12

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Colorado: Head coach Linda Lappe resigns

Read Next

UCF parts ways with head coach Joi Williams