Lauren Cox named 2016 WBCA High School Player of the Year, WBCA All-America Team announced

Lauren Cox (Flower Mound, Texas) is the 2016 WBCA High School Player of the Year and headlines the 2016 WBCA High School Coaches’ All-America Team.

From the WBCA:

Cox, a 6-foot-4 senior, is the top-ranked player in the United States according to ESPN and has signed with Baylor. She averaged 19.0 points, 13.3 rebounds and 4.4 blocks per game during her high school career.

The forward holds numerous career awards, honors, recognitions and highlights. As a senior, Cox is a top five Naismith Player of the Year candidate, has been named to the 2016 McDonald’s All-American Team and is a Wendy’s Heisman state finalist. She was awarded the Texas Gatorade Girls Basketball Player of the Year as a junior. During the past three seasons Cox was named a Texas Association of Basketball Coaches (TABC) All-State member and was selected to the Texas Girls Coaches Association (TGCA) First Team All-State.

Cox helped lead Team USA to gold at the 2013 U16, 2014 U17 and 2015 U19 FIBA World Championship.

“The WBCA is delighted to name Lauren as the 2016 WBCA High School Player of the Year,” said WBCA executive director Danielle Donehew. “Lauren has played an integral role in guiding her team to an extraordinary season, and is very deserving of this distinguished honor.  The WBCA applauds Lauren for her hard work, dedication and contributions to the game during the 2015-16 season.”

Players selected to the 2016 WBCA High School All-America Team

Name School Hometown Signed
Erin Boley Elizabethtown High School Hodgenville, Ky. Notre Dame
Kaila Charles Riverdale Baptist High School Glendale, Md. Maryland
Natalie Chou Plano West High School Plano, Texas Baylor
Lauren Cox Flower Mound High School Flower Mound, Texas Baylor
Crystal Dangerfield Blackman High School Murfreesboro, Tenn. Connecticut
Joyner Holmes Cedar Hill High School Cedar Hill, Texas Texas
Sabrina Ionescu Miramonte High School Walnut Creek, Calif. Undeclared
Tori McCoy The High School of St. Thomas More Champaign, Ill. Ohio State
Leaonna Odom Chaminade College Prep Los Alamitos, Calif. Duke
Destiny Slocum Mountain View High School Meridian, Idaho Maryland

Players receiving 2016 WBCA High School All-America honorable mention

Name School Hometown Signed
Mi’Cole Cayton St. Mary’s High School Stockton, Calif. Nebraska
Nicole Ekhomu Joliet Catholic Academy Bolingbrook, Ill. Florida State
Nadia Fingall Choctawhatchee High School Navarre, Fla. Stanford
A’Tyanna Gaulden Sumter County Comp High School Americus, Ga. Florida State
Ae’Rianna Harris Lawrence North High School Indianapolis, Ind. Purdue
Valerie Higgins Chaminade College Prep Granada Hills, Calif. USC
Ciera Johnson Duncanville High School Duncanville, Texas Louisville
Kiara Lewis Whitney Young High School Chicago, Ill. Ohio State
Nancy Mulkey Cypress Woods High School Cypress, Texas Oklahoma
Mikayla Pivec Lynnwood High School Lynnwood, Wash. Oregon State
Amber Ramirez Karen Wagner High School San Antonio, Texas TCU
Ally Rosenblum Mater Dei High School Newport Coast, Calif. UCLA
Kylee Shook Mesa Ridge High School Colorado Springs, Colo. Louisville
Jenna Staiti West Forsyth High School Cumming, Ga. Maryland
Alecia Sutton Parkway North High School St. Louis, Mo. Texas
Dominique Toussaint Christ the King High School Staten Island, N.Y. Virginia
Jada Underwood Dr. John Horn High School Mesquite, Texas Texas
Jasmine Walker Jefferson Davis High School Montgomery, Ala. Florida State
Blair Watson Nutley High School Nutley, N.J. Maryland
Jackie Young Princeton Community High School Princeton, Ind. Notre Dame

Any graduating senior can be nominated for the WBCA High School Coaches’ All-America Team by a high school or AAU coach who is an active WBCA member. College coaches are not eligible to nominate a player for consideration.  The 10-player Coaches’ All-America team and a 20-player honorable mention team are selected from the nominees by a selection committee composed of WBCA-member girls’ high school basketball coaches who represent nine geographical districts across the country.

The 2016 selection committee is composed of  Brian Robinson (chair), Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School (North Carolina); Eric Smith, Cicero-North Syracuse High School (New York); Jody Patrick, Flint Hill School (Virginia); Melissa Guebert, Eastview High School; Jill Nagel, Rock Bridge High School (Missouri); Todd Monsey, Mansfield Timberview High School (Texas); Carl Mattei, Regis Jesuit High School (Colorado); Kevin Kiernan, Mater Dei High School (California); Angie Hembree, Norcross High School (Georgia); and Gary Glasscock, Metro High School (Missouri) who is past chair.  Daniella Trujillo, WBCA manager of events, awards & office administration, is staff liaison to the committee.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Ivy League adds basketball tournaments beginning in 2017

Read Next

2015-16 Gatorade State Girls Basketball Players of the Year

Data powered by Oddspedia