WBCA announces winners of its inaugural Assistant Coaches of the Year award

From the WBCA:

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has announced its inaugural Assistant Coaches of the Year in each of the six WBCA membership divisions.

The Assistant Coach of the Year award is presented to the recipient who demonstrated commitment to the program, to their student-athletes and head coach, their impact coaching on court, mentorship and impact on other coaches, as well as their professional manner and attitude.

“The role of an assistant coach is profoundly important to team leadership and chemistry. The daily example set by the head and assistant coach as a unit, ripples through basketball lessons and life lessons.  The WBCA is proud to name these six individuals as the Assistant Coach of the Year in their respective divisions,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. “These coaches were selected by their peers and the WBCA celebrates and applauds these coaches for their lasting commitment to use our game as a platform to positively impact their student-athletes, institution, and community.”

The inaugural Assistant Coaches of the Year are:
• NCAA Division I – Niele Ivey, University of Notre Dame
• NCAA Division II – Jessie Ivey, University of West Florida
• NCAA Division III – Rob Slopek, Stevenson University
• NAIA – Beck Flanagan, Loyola University (New Orleans)
• Junior/Community College – Nakia DeBlanc, Daytona State College
• High School – Daniel Michalak, Platt High School (Meriden, Connecticut)

The Assistant Coach of the Year award winners will be recognized during the WBCA Convention, which is held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 03-24-2016

Read Next

First meeting between UConn and Mississippi State among highlights of Bridgeport Regional