2016 WBCA Division I Coaches All-America Team announced

2016 WBCA D! All-Americans. Photo: WBCA.
2016 WBCA D! All-Americans. Photo: WBCA.

The WBCA announced its 2016 Division I Coaches All-America Team at the site of the Final Four on Saturday in Indianapolis. Five members of the team are competing in the Final Four including:

  • Kelsey Plum (Washington)
  • Jamie Weisner (Oregon State)
  • Moriah Jefferson (Connecticut)
  • Breanna Stewart (Connecticut)
  • Morgan Tuck (Connecticut)

The rest of the team:

  • Nina Davis (Baylor)
  • Kelsey Mitchell (Ohio State)
  • Brianna Turner (Notre Dame)
  • A’ja Wilson (South Carolina)
  • Courtney Williams (South Florida)

The 10-member team was decided from a group of 52 finalists by a selection committee at an in-person meeting held during the 2016 WBCA National Convention.

“The 10 members of the 2016 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Team are well deserving of this recognition, and the WBCA congratulates them for their accomplishments this season,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. “These young women have worked to elevate themselves and their teams to an elite level and through their exceptional talents on the basketball court, they have lifted the women’s game.”

This is the 42nd year of the WBCA Coaches’ All-America program, which began in 1975. Once again all 10 members of the team were present to be honored in person during the ceremony. Remarkably, in the 42-year history of the program, none of the 420 Coaches’ All-Americans thus far honored have failed to appear for the announcement.

2016 WBCA Division I Coaches’ All-America Team Honorable Mentions

Name Institution
Lindsay Allen Notre Dame
Jillian Alleyne Oregon
Ameryst Alston Ohio State
Kristine Anigwe California
Rachel Banham Minnesota
Imani Boyette Texas
Sophie Brunner Arizona State
Adut Bulgak Florida State
Madison Cable Notre Dame
Alaina Coates South Carolina
Nia Coffey Northwestern
Brittany Crain UC Riverside
Kim Demmings Wright State
Makayla Epps Kentucky
Temi Fagbenle Southern California
Katelynn Flaherty Michigan
Nathalie Fontaine Ball State
Jordan Frericks Missouri
Danaejah Grant St. John’s
Ruth Hamblin Oregon State
Myisha Hines-Allen Louisville
Bria Holmes West Virginia
Chanise Jenkins DePaul
Niya Johnson Baylor
Alexis Jones Baylor
Brionna Jones Maryland
Jonquel Jones George Washington
Brittney Martin Oklahoma State
Kelsey Minato Army
Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina
Mariya Moore Louisville
Adrienne Motley Miami (Fla.)
Aerial Powers Michigan State
Shereesha Richards Albany
April Robinson Duquesne
Leticia Romero Florida State
Azurá Stevens Duke
Shakayla Thomas Florida State
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State
Courtney Walker Texas A&M
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Maryland
Aaliyah Whiteside Georgia Tech
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

UConn’s Moriah Jefferson is the 2016 WBCA Division I Defensive Player of the Year

Read Next

UConn’s Breanna Stewart wins the Wade Trophy for the second consecutive year