• December 6, 2021

Matchups for the 10th annual ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge Announced

The Atlantic Coast Conference and the Big Ten Conference announced the matchups for the 2016 ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge. This year’s challenge marks the 10th straight year of the event that pits two perennial strong conferences against each other.

All 14 Big Ten teams and 14 of the 15 ACC teams will participate in the 2016 Challenge. The event will be played in a two-day format beginning on Wednesday, Nov. 30.

2016 Big Ten/ACC Challenge Schedule

Wednesday, Nov. 30
Michigan State at Syracuse
Notre Dame at Iowa
Florida State at Minnesota
Purdue at Pittsburgh
Wake Forest at Illinois
Penn State at Boston College

Thursday, Dec. 1
Indiana at NC State
Nebraska at Virginia Tech
Duke at Rutgers
Maryland at Louisville
North Carolina at Wisconsin
Michigan at Georgia Tech
Virginia at Northwestern
Miami at Ohio State

A year ago, the ACC and the Big Ten tied in the Challenge, each winning seven games, to mark the second straight Challenge tie and only third in Challenge history. The ACC owns a 62-46 edge over the Big Ten in Challenge games and six Challenge titles.

The ACC and Big Ten conference offices determine the schedule each season, and the official title of the Challenge rotates each year. The 2016 event will be referred to as the ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge.

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 05-24-2016

Read Next

San Antonio Stars to retire former Stars guard Becky Hammon’s No. 25 jersey