Tuesday, November 24th, 2020

With conclusion of qualifying tournament, 2016 Summer Olympics women’s basketball field set

Published on June 19, 2016



With the conclusion of the 2016 FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament (WOQT), the full 12-team field for the women’s basketball competition in the Rio Games is now set.

The teams that advanced from the WOQT include (in place order):

  1. France
  2. Turkey
  3. China
  4. Spain
  5. Belarus

Belarus beat Argentina on Sunday for the fifth and final place.

Teams that earned a bid to the 2016 Summer Olympics prior to the WOQT include:

  • Brazil (Host)
  • USA (FIBA Women’s World Champion)
  • Senegal (AfroBasket Women 2015 Champion)
  • Canada (2015 FIBA Americas Women’s Champion)
  • Japan (2015 FIBA Asia Women’s Champion)
  • Serbia (EuroBasket Women 2015 Champion)
  • Australia (2015 FIBA Oceania Women’s Champion)

The Olympic competition takes place Aug. 6 – 20 and begins with a group phase.

Finalized groups for Women’s Olympic Basketball Tournament:
Group A: 1. France; 2. Japan; 3. Brazil; 4. Australia; 5. Belarus; 6. Turkey.
Group B: 1. Canada; 2. Spain; 3. USA; 4. Senegal; 5. Serbia; 6. China.

The group phase will be played in a round robin format (each team faces the other five in its group). The top four classified teams from each group will then move on to the final phase which will be played in a standard knock-out system consisting of quarterfinals, semifinals, a bronze medal game and a gold medal game.


Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: