Australia announces 2016 Olympic women’s basketball team

The Australian Women’s Olympic basketball team that will compete for gold at the 2016 Rio Games was announced today. The squad includes three members from the London 2012 team (Laura Hodges, Elizabeth Cambage and Rachel Jarry) that won bronze. Erin Phillips and Penny Taylor will make their return to the Olympics. Taylor missed the London Games due to injury.

“Gold is always the goal at an Olympic Games but we know there is a long way to getting the chance to play for that gold medal,” Taylor said, a forward for the Phoenix Mercury.

Dallas Wings guard Erin Phillips was not selected for the London team.

“I’m incredibly excited to be heading to Rio to represent my country,” said Phillips. There is no bigger honor in sport and I’m so grateful for this amazing opportunity.”

Newcomers include Marianna Tolo, Katie-Rae Ebzery, Natalie Burton, Tessa Lavey, U.S.-born Leilani Mitchell (her mother was Australian), Stephanie Talbot and Cayla George.

  • Natalie Burton
  • Elizabeth Cambage
  • Katie-Rae Ebzery
  • Cayla George
  • Laura Hodges
  • Rachel Jarry
  • Tessa Lavey
  • Leilani Mitchell
  • Erin Phillips
  • Stephanie Talbot
  • Penny Taylor
  • Marianna Tolo

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

USA Select Team unveiled, future Olympic hopefuls will compete against national team in exhibition

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 07-11-2016

Data powered by Oddspedia