2017 Wade Trophy Watch List announced

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the 2017 Wade Trophy. Now in its  40th year, the Wade Trophy is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the The Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

The “Wade Watch” list of candidates for The Wade Trophy is composed of 25 players selected by the WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Selection Committee. The committee will review the list in January to determine if additional players will be added based on their play during the first half of the 2016-17 season.

Wade Trophy Watch List

Player Institution Position Height Year
Lindsay Allen Notre Dame Guard 5-8 Sr.
Kristine Anigwe California Forward/Center 6-4 So.
Jordin Canada UCLA Guard 5-6 Jr.
Alaina Coates South Carolina Center 6-4 Sr.
Nia Coffey Northwestern Forward 6-1 Sr.
Nina Davis Baylor Forward 5-11 Sr.
Diamond DeShields Tennessee Guard 6-1 Jr.
Makayla Epps Kentucky Guard 5-10 Sr.
Katelynn Flaherty Michigan Guard 5-7 Jr.
Myisha Hines-Allen Louisville Forward 6-2 Jr.
Brionna Jones Maryland Center 6-3 Sr.
Alexis Jones Baylor Guard 5-9 Sr.
Erica McCall Stanford Forward 6-3 Sr.
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State Guard 5-8 Jr.
Mariya Moore Louisville Forward 6-0 Jr.
Kia Nurse Connecticut Guard 6-0 Jr.
Alexis Peterson Syracuse Guard 5-7 Sr.
Kelsey Plum Washington Guard 5-8 Sr.
Leticia Romero Florida State Guard 5-8 Sr.
Shakayla Thomas Florida State Forward 5-11 Jr.
Brianna Turner Notre Dame Forward 6-3 Jr.
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State Guard 6-1 Jr.
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Maryland Guard 5-11 Sr.
Sydney Wiese Oregon State Guard 6-1 Sr.
A’ja Wilson South Carolina Forward 6-5 Jr.
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Connecticut Sun forward Chiney Ogwumike undergoes successful Achilles surgery

Read Next

Southern California sweeps Pac-12 Player of the Week Awards