WNBA 2017: Core players, reserved players, restricted free agents and unrestricted free agents

The list of core players, reserved players, restricted free agents and unrestricted free agents that were on team rosters at the end of the 2016 season.

Core Players
The Core designation gives that team exclusive negotiating rights with the player. Players can receive a Core designation only four times in their career.

  • DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix)
  • Crystal Langhorne (Seattle)
  • Camille Little (Connecticut)
  • Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta)
  • Tanisha Wright (New York)

Reserved Players
Players with three or fewer years of service are considered to be Reserved Players. The player’s prior team has exclusive negotiating rights.

  • Farhiya Abdi (Los Angeles)
  • Rebecca Allen (New York)
  • Valeriane Ayayi (San Antonio)
  • Vicki Baugh (San Antonio)
  • Tiffany Bias (Dallas)
  • Abby Bishop (Seattle)
  • Sydney Colson (San Antonio)
  • Anna Cruz (Minnesota)
  • Ana Dabovic (Los Angeles)
  • Clarissa Dos Santos (Chicago)
  • Jelena Dubljevic (Los Angeles)
  • Ha Eun Joo (Los Angeles)
  • Cayla George (Phoenix)
  • Keisha Hampton (Minnesota)
  • Emmeline Ndongue (Los Angeles)
  • Haley Peters (San Antonio)
  • Sonja Petrovic (Phoenix)
  • Meighan Simmons (Atlanta)
  • Marianna Tolo (Los Angeles)
  • Erica Wheeler (Indiana)
  • Marta Xargay (Phoenix)

Players with four or five years of service are considered to be Restricted Free Agents. Restricted free agency gives the player’s prior team the right to keep the player by matching a contract offer the player signs with another team (Right of First Refusal). If the player signs a contract offer with another team, the player’s prior team has four days from the date it receives the offer to determine whether it wishes to match. If the offer is matched, the player will remain with her team. If the offer is not matched within the four-day period, the player will be under contract with the offering team.

  • Kayla Alexander (San Antonio)
  • Alex Bentley (Connecticut)
  • Kelsey Bone (Phoenix)
  • Layshia Clarendon (Atlanta)
  • Elena Delle Donne (Chicago)
  • Kelly Faris (Connecticut)
  • Brittney Griner (Phoenix)
  • Sandrine Gruda (Los Angeles)
  • Tayler Hill (Washington)
  • Kayla Pedersen (Connecticut)
  • Jeanette Pohlen (Indiana)
  • Sugar Rodgers (New York)
  • Tierra Ruffin-Pratt (Washington)
  • Krystal Thomas (Seattle)

Unrestricted free agents
Any player with six or more years of service will be an Unrestricted Free Agent. Unrestricted Free Agents are free to sign with any team provided that she is not designated as a Core Player by her prior team.

  • Mistie Bass
  • Alana Beard
  • Essence Carson
  • Erika de Souza
  • Markeisha Gatling
  • Whitney Knight
  • Erlana Larkins
  • Janel McCarville
  • Leilani Mitchell
  • Plenette Pierson
  • Asia Taylor
  • Jasmine Thomas
  • Kristi Toliver
  • Ann Wauters
  • Monica Wright

Source: WNBA

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Atlanta Dream unveils 10th season logo

Read Next

Connecticut Sun trades Aneika Henry-Morello to the Atlanta Dream in exchange for Reshanda Gray

Data powered by Oddspedia