Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 14 finalists for Class of 2017 election

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced 14 finalists for Class of 2017 election on Saturday during NBA All-Star Weekend in New Orleans. The finalists include four players, seven coaches, a referee, a legendary contributor and one record-setting team.

The women’s basketball finalists include:

  • ESPN analyst Rebecca Lobo and member of the 1995 undefeated NCAA National Champion Connecticut Huskies
  • Baylor’s Kim Mulkey, a two-time NCAA National Championship coach and the first person to win a national championship as a player, assistant coach and head coach.
  • Notre Dame’s Muffet McGraw, a three-time National College Coach of the Year and coach of the 2001 National Championship team
  • Ten-time AAU National Champions Wayland Baptist University

The Class of 2017 will be announced on Monday, April 3 at a press conference in Phoenix prior to the NCAA Men’s Championship game. The new class will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, September 7-9, 2017.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Dallas Wings trade Odyssey Sims to the Los Angeles Sparks in exchange for picks in WNBA Draft

Read Next

Alanna Smith buoys Stanford in Battle of the Bay sweep vs. Cal, Cardinal seniors play their last game at Maples Pavilion