Sunday, April 11th, 2021

UConn signee Megan Walker named 2017 Naismith Trophy Girl’s High School Player of the Year

Published on March 14, 2017


Megan Walker, the nation’s top high school girls’ basketball commitment, was named winner of the 2017 Naismith Trophy. Signed to Connecticut, the  senior from Monacan (Va.) High School, Walker becomes the sixth Naismith Trophy winner to play for Geno Auriemma, following Diana Taurasi (2000), Maya Moore (2007), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (2011), Breanna Stewart (2012) and Katie Lou Samuelson (2015).

Walker, a 6-1 shooting guard led her team to a third consecutive Group 4A state title and a perfect season (30-0). She  recently eclipsed the 2,000-point total, averaged 25.5 points, 7.5 rebounds and 1.2 assists per game during her senior season.

“Megan is so deserving of this award. She holds herself to a maturity level of people many years her senior. She is humble yet confident, and is always helping everyone on the team improve,” said Larry Starr, Monacan High School Head Girls’ Basketball Coach. “Megan is a great teammate, leader, and person and will represent the Naismith Trophy with dignity and class.”

A group of journalists selects the award winner based on player performance during the 2016-2017 high school basketball season.



Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: