• January 24, 2022

2018 Wade Watch List announced

The WBCA announced the 2017-18 list of 25 candidates for the Wade Trophy. The annual award, now in its 41st year, honors the best player in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade.

The watch list is composed of 25 players selected by the WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Selection Committee. In January, the committee will review the list and determine if additional players should be added based on their play during the first half of the season. Four finalists will be announced in mid-March. The winner of the 2018 Wade Trophy will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the Final Four national semifinal games on March 30.

Watch List

Player Institution Position Height Year
Kristine Anigwe California C/F 6-4 Jr.
Monique Billings UCLA F 6-4 Sr.
Kalani Brown Baylor C 6-7 Jr.
Lexie Brown Duke G 5-9 RS Sr.
Tyra Buss Indiana G 5-8 Sr.
Jordin Canada UCLA G 5-6 Sr.
Napheesa Collier Connecticut F 6-1 Jr.
Sophie Cunningham Missouri G 6-1 Jr.
Asia Durr Louisville G 5-10 Jr.
Katelynn Flaherty Michigan G 5-7 Sr.
Myisha Hines-Allen Louisville F 6-2 Sr.
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon G 5-10 So.
Kitija Laksa South Florida F 6-0 Jr.
Tynice Martin West Virginia G 5-11 Jr.
Brooke McCarty Texas G 5-4 Sr.
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State G 5-8 Sr.
Kia Nurse Connecticut G 6-0 Sr.
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame G 5-8 Jr.
Mercedes Russell Tennessee C 6-6 RS Sr.
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut G/F 6-3 Jr.
Shakayla Thomas Florida State F 5-11 Sr.
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State G 6-1 Sr.
Morgan William Mississippi State G 5-5 Sr.
Gabby Williams Connecticut F 5-11 Sr.
A’ja Wilson South Carolina F 6-5 Sr.

Read Previous

Watch list of 50 players for 2018 Citizen Naismith Player of the Year Trophy announced

Read Next

The WNBA Board of Governors approved four rules changes for the 2018 season