Thursday, January 23rd, 2020

WNBPA announces changes to its executive committee

Published on August 20, 2018


Release from the WNBPA:

The Women’s National Basketball Players Association (WNBPA) announced the election of five Officers on its Executive Committee. Sue Bird, Elena Delle Donne, and Chiney Ogwumike were elected to the offices of Vice President; Elizabeth Williams was elected as Secretary; and Carolyn Swords was elected as Treasurer.

With the addition of the new Officers, the Union continues to be well-represented at every level by Players with varying levels of experience and years of service. “From the Executive Committee to the Board of Player Representatives, these are players who are committed to doing the work. Together we will maintain a robust Union that reflects the best interests of our members,” said WNBPA President Nneka Ogwumike.

Chiney Ogwumike was re-elected to the Office that she has held for the previous two years. Bird, Delle Donne, Swords, and Williams all join the Executive Committee for the first time in their careers. Bird, Swords, and Williams all have prior Union Leadership experience, having served as the Player Representatives for their respective teams. The Offices of Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer all carry two-year Terms.

Earlier this summer, WNBPA Player Leadership voted to expand its Executive Committee to seven positions (increased from five) by separating the former Office of Secretary-Treasurer into the distinct roles of Secretary and Treasurer, while also adding a third Vice President position.

The five leadership positions were up for election following the WNBPA’s governance changes, and after the expiration of the two-year terms for Ogwumike (Vice President), Monique Currie (Vice President), and Monica Wright (Secretary-Treasurer).

Nneka Ogwumike and Layshia Clarendon will continue serving as WNBPA President and WNBPA First Vice President, respectively, as both offices carry three-year terms.

To ensure a seamless transition, the new members will join the Executive Committee in all meetings, effective immediately. Their terms will officially begin on Monday, October 15, 2018. Monique Currie will continue to serve out the remainder of her term as Vice President through this date.


Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: