Four cities chosen as future NCAA Women’s Final Four hosts

The NCAA announced that San Antonio, Minneapolis, Dallas and Cleveland have been tabbed as future host cities for the NCAA Women’s Final Four from 2021 through 2024. The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee identified the four cities after a 12- month process. Tampa Bay, Florida, (Amalie Arena) and New Orleans (Smoothie King Center) previously had been identified to host in 2019 and 2020.

“The committee appreciates all of the cities that were involved in the bid process and are thrilled to announce the additions of great hosting communities in San Antonio, Minneapolis, Dallas and Cleveland to the Women’s Final Four family of future hosts,” said Rhonda Lundin Bennett, chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee and senior associate athletics director at Nevada. “When we crown a national champion in those cities in the years to come, we know our student-athletes, teams and fans will have enjoyed an amazing championship experience.”

Notes from the NCAA:

  • The Women’s Final Four will return to San Antonio and the Alamodome on April 2 and 4, 2021.
  • Minneapolis returns as a Women’s Final Four host city in 2022 after previously hosting in 1995. Playing dates for the event will be April 1 and 3 at the Target Center.
    The 1995 Women’s Final Four in Minneapolis ended with the UConn Huskies earning the first of their record 11 team national championships. The title capped a perfect 35-0 season for UConn. The University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, and Sports Minneapolis will serve as co-hosts in 2022.
  • Dallas and the American Airlines Center will host March 31 and April 2, 2023. Dallas previously played host to the Women’s Final Four in 2017, highlighted by the national semifinal upset of UConn by Mississippi State, which ended the Huskies’ record 111-game winning streak. The South Carolina Gamecocks then emerged to win the school’s first national championship. The Big 12 Conference and Dallas Sports Commission will serve as co-hosts in 2023.
  • Cleveland, which previously hosted the Women’s Final Four in 2007, will return as host in 2024, with games played April 5 and 7 at Quicken Loans Arena. Cleveland was the site of the second to last national championship won by the Tennessee Lady Vols and legendary head coach Pat Summitt in 2007. It will be the fourth Women’s Final Four to be held in the state of Ohio. In addition to Cleveland in 2007, the Women’s Final Four has been held in Cincinnati in 1997 and in Columbus in 2018. The Mid-American Conference and the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission will serve as co-hosts.
Year/Dates City Hosts Venue
April 5 and 7
Tampa Bay University of South Florida, Tampa Bay Sports Commission Amalie Arena
April 3 and 5
New Orleans University of New Orleans, Tulane University Smoothie King Center
April 2 and 4
San Antonio University of the Incarnate Word, University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio Sports Alamodome
April 1 and 3
Minneapolis University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, Sports Minneapolis Target Center
March 31 and April 2
Dallas Big 12 Conference, Dallas Sports Commission American Airlines Center
April 5 and 7
Cleveland Mid-American Conference, Greater Cleveland Sports Commission Quicken Loans Arena
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Weekly Twitter Digest for 09-17-2018

Read Next

How long can the USA hang on to the top spot in women’s basketball?

Data powered by Oddspedia