Saturday, October 24th, 2020

WNBA announces 2020 schedule; action begins with back-to-back days of national triple-header telecasts

Published on July 13, 2020

By

Full Schedule || National TV Schedule

The WNBA announced the schedule for the 2020 season. Play begins Saturday, July 25 with back-to-back days of national triple-header telecasts across ABC, ESPN, and CBS Sports Network. The league’s 24th season will be in Bradenton, Florida at IMG Academy includes a 22-game schedule for each of its 12 teams.

Highlights:

  • There will be 24 national telecasts across ABC, ESPN, and ESPN2, including 12 doubleheaders during the first half of the season.
  • CBS Sports and CBS Sports Network will offer 40 telecasts, including 11 doubleheaders and a tripleheader. This year will mark the first time that CBS will broadcast a game on the CBS Television Network, the remaining games will air on CBS Sports Network.
  • Other games slated for NBA TV, as well as games available on WNBA League Pass, will be announced in the coming weeks.
  • Regular-season play is currently scheduled to conclude on Saturday, Sept. 12, and be followed by a traditional playoffs and Finals format.

The Seattle Storm meets the New York Liberty in the first game of the season at 12 p.m. ET on ESPN. That game will be followed by a matchup of the Los Angeles Sparks against the Phoenix Mercury (3 p.m. ET, ABC). A matchup of the Indiana Fever vs. the defending champion Washington Mystics rounds out the first day of action (5 p.m. ET, CBS Sports Network).

From the league:

Highlights of the ABC/ESPN/ESPN2 Telecast Schedule

  • ESPN networks will present 24 regular-season telecasts during the first half of the season – including three games on ABC, six on ESPN, and 15 on ESPN2 – and up to 19 playoff games. ESPN game coverage for the second half of the season will be released at a later date.
  • All ESPN telecasts during the regular season and postseason will stream live on the ESPN app.
  • ABC, in addition to airing a pair of games on opening weekend, will feature Seattle vs. Phoenix on Saturday, Aug. 8 (3 p.m. ET).
  • Los Angeles’ Seimone Augustus, who won four WNBA championships with Minnesota, will meet her former team for the first time on Sunday, Aug. 9 (7 p.m. ET, ESPN2).
  • ESPN will highlight four-time All-Star Skylar Diggins-Smith and her new Phoenix teammates, when she squares off against her former team, Dallas, for the first time on Monday, Aug. 10 (7 p.m. ET).

Highlights of the CBS Sports Telecast Schedule

  • CBS Sports will air 40 regular-season telecasts, including one on CBS Television Network and 39 on CBS Sports Network.
  • CBS Sports’ coverage will include 11 games featuring Ionescu’s Liberty squad and seven games taking place during the final week of the season.
  • Dallas will appear on CBS Sports Network 10 times; Los Angeles and Seattle will each appear seven times.
  • On Saturday, August 29 (4 p.m. ET, CBS Television Network), Ionescu and the Liberty will take on the Las Vegas Aces and two-time league scoring leader Angel McCoughtry.
  • On Wednesday, Aug. 26 (10 p.m. ET, CBS Sports Network), DeWanna Bonner, now of the Connecticut Sun, will tip off against her former team, the Phoenix Mercury, for the first time after winning two championships in 10 seasons with Phoenix.

 

2020 WNBA NATIONAL TELEVISION SCHEDULE

July
July 25 (Saturday), 12 PM ET – Seattle @ New York (ESPN)
July 25 (Saturday), 3 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Phoenix (ABC)
July 25 (Saturday), 5 PM ET – Indiana @ Washington (CBSSN)
July 26 (Sunday), 12 PM ET – Connecticut @ Minnesota (ESPN)
July 26 (Sunday), 3 PM ET – Chicago @ Las Vegas (ABC)
July 26 (Sunday), 5 PM ET – Dallas @ Atlanta (CBSSN)
July 28 (Tuesday), 10 PM ET – Minnesota @ Seattle (CBSSN)
July 29 (Wednesday), 8 PM ET – New York @ Dallas (CBSSN)
July 29 (Wednesday), 10 PM ET – Atlanta @ Las Vegas (CBSSN)
July 30 (Thursday), 6 PM ET – Seattle @ Washington (ESPN)
July 30 (Thursday), 10 PM ET – Connecticut @ Los Angeles (ESPN)
July 31 (Friday), 8 PM ET – Indiana @ Dallas (CBSSN)
July 31 (Friday), 10 PM ET – Las Vegas @ Phoenix (CBSSN)

August
Aug. 1 (Monday), 8 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Seattle (CBSSN)
Aug. 2 (Sunday), 1 PM ET – Phoenix @ New York (ESPN)
Aug. 2 (Sunday), 6 PM ET – Dallas @ Las Vegas (ESPN2)
Aug. 4 (Tuesday), 7 PM ET – Phoenix @ Atlanta (ESPN2)
Aug. 4 (Tuesday), 9 PM ET – Connecticut @ Seattle (ESPN2)
Aug. 5 (Wednesday), 7 PM ET – Minnesota @ New York (CBSSN)
Aug. 6 (Thursday), 6 PM ET – Seattle @ Atlanta (ESPN2)
Aug. 6 (Thursday), 10 PM ET – Chicago @ Phoenix (ESPN2)
Aug. 7 (Friday), 7 PM ET – New York @ Washington (ESPN2)
Aug. 7 (Friday), 9 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Las Vegas (ESPN2)
Aug. 8 (Saturday), 12 PM ET – Atlanta @ Dallas (ESPN2)
Aug. 8 (Saturday), 3 PM ET – Phoenix @ Seattle (ABC)
Aug. 9 (Sunday), 3 PM ET – Las Vegas @ New York (ESPN)
Aug. 9 (Sunday), 7 PM ET – Minnesota @ Los Angeles (ESPN2)
Aug. 10 (Monday), 7 PM ET – Phoenix @ Dallas (ESPN2)
Aug. 10 (Monday), 9 PM ET – Chicago @ Seattle (ESPN2)
Aug. 11 (Tuesday), 7 PM ET – Las Vegas @ Indiana (ESPN2)
Aug. 11 (Tuesday), 9 PM ET – New York @ Los Angeles (ESPN2)
Aug. 12 (Wednesday), 7 PM ET – Dallas @ Connecticut (CBSSN)
Aug. 13 (Thursday), 7 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Washington (ESPN2)
Aug. 13 (Thursday), 9 PM ET – Minnesota @ Las Vegas (ESPN2)
Aug. 15 (Saturday), 6 PM ET – New York @ Minnesota (CBSSN)
Aug. 18 (Tuesday), 7 PM ET – Indiana @ Connecticut (CBSSN)
Aug. 19 (Wednesday), 7 PM ET – Atlanta @ Washington (CBSSN)
Aug. 20 (Thursday), 7 PM ET – Chicago @ New York (CBSSN)
Aug. 20 (Thursday), 10 PM ET – Connecticut @ Las Vegas (CBSSN)
Aug. 21 (Friday), 10 PM ET – Minnesota @ Phoenix (CBSSN)
Aug. 22 (Saturday), 2 PM ET – Indiana @ Chicago (CBSSN)
Aug. 22 (Saturday), 4 PM ET – New York @ Connecticut (CBSSN)
Aug. 22 (Saturday), 6 PM ET – Seattle @ Las Vegas (CBSSN)
Aug. 25 (Tuesday), 7 PM ET – New York @ Chicago (CBSSN)
Aug. 25 (Tuesday), 9 PM ET – Las Vegas @ Dallas (CBSSN)
Aug. 26 (Wednesday), 8 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Minnesota (CBSSN)
Aug. 26 (Wednesday), 10 PM ET – Connecticut @ Phoenix (CBSSN)
Aug. 27 (Thursday), 8 PM ET – Dallas @ New York (CBSSN)
Aug. 27 (Thursday), 10 PM ET – Las Vegas @ Seattle (CBSSN)
Aug. 28 (Friday), 8 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Connecticut (CBSSN)
Aug. 28 (Friday), 10 PM ET – Washington @ Phoenix (CBSSN)
Aug. 29 (Saturday), 12 PM ET – Dallas @ Indiana (CBSSN)
Aug. 29 (Saturday), 4 PM ET – New York @ Las Vegas (CBS)

September
Sept. 1 (Tuesday), 7 PM ET – Connecticut @ New York (CBSSN)
Sept. 2 (Wednesday), 8 PM ET – Los Angeles @ Dallas (CBSSN)
Sept. 2 (Wednesday), 10 PM ET – Washington @ Seattle (CBSSN)
Sept. 6 (Sunday), 8 PM ET – Chicago @ Los Angeles (CBSSN)
Sept. 8 (Tuesday), 7 PM ET – Los Angeles @ New York (CBSSN)
Sept. 9 (Wednesday), 8 PM ET – Atlanta @ Chicago (CBSSN)
Sept. 9 (Wednesday), 10 PM ET – Dallas @ Seattle (CBSSN)
Sept. 10 (Thursday), 7 PM ET – New York @ Indiana (CBSSN)
Sept. 10 (Thursday), 10 PM ET – Washington @ Los Angeles (CBSSN)
Sept. 11 (Friday), 8 PM ET – Chicago @ Dallas (CBSSN)
Sept. 11 (Friday), 10 PM ET – Seattle @ Phoenix (CBSSN)

*Note: Schedule subject to change


 

Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.

Connect



Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field

 

Twitter


 

Search

%d bloggers like this: