San Antonio and the surrounding region will host the 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship

The 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship will feature 64 teams competing from March 21 through April 4 at the Alamodome in San Antonio and other nearby venues. The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee announced that all Six championship rounds featuring 63 games will be played using five venues and six courts in San Antonio, Austin, and San Marcos, Texas, with the Alamodome hosting two of those courts.

“We appreciate the historical significance of moving the entire championship to one region and want to acknowledge the work by the Women’s Basketball Committee and staff, our hosts, local organizers and ESPN that has allowed us to make plans for a successful 2021 championship,” said Lynn Holzman, NCAA vice president of women’s basketball.

“We’re fortunate to be working with San Antonio, which features one of the most experienced local organizing committees in the country, and our No. 1 priority is to focus on creating and implementing safety controls in an environment for student-athletes, coaches, administrators, officials and everyone else associated with the championship.”

“San Antonio was already poised to successfully host the NCAA Women’s Final Four this year, but to bring all 64 teams in this prestigious championship tournament to our city is a remarkable opportunity for our event and hospitality industry,” added San Antonio Mayor Ron Nirenberg. “I can assure the NCAA and the teams we will deliver the best, safest and most memorable experience possible.”

The NCAA is currently in discussions for games to be played at the following venues and schedule:  First-round play will take place March 21-22 at the Alamodome, Bill Greehey Arena on the campus of St. Mary’s (Texas), Frank Erwin Center (Texas), University Events Center (Texas State) and the UTSA Convocation Center. Second-round play will shift entirely to venues in San Antonio, with the Alamodome, Bill Greehey Arena, and the UTSA Convocation Center playing host March 23-24. The championship will shift to the Alamodome for all remaining rounds, with the Sweet 16 games played March 27-28, Elite Eight games held March 29-30, and the Women’s Final Four conducted April 2 and 4.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

WBCA NCAA Division II Top 25 Coaches Poll for Feb. 2, 2021

Read Next

Stanford survives late-game offensive onslaught from Colorado, 62-54