Officials announced for 2021 WNBA Playoffs

Playoffs Schedule

The WNBA Referee Operations management team selected 15 referees to serve as on-court and/or alternate officials in the 2021 playoffs. The officials were selected based on their performance over the season using three criteria:

  • WNBA Referee Operations’ graded rankings
  • Play-calling accuracy
  • Team feedback. 

After each round, the ffficials will be evaluated to determine future advancement in the 2021 postseason. In addition:

  • Individual game assignments for referees are posted at at approximately 9 a.m. ET each game day.
  • Each game crew consists of three on-court officials and one on-site alternate. 

The playoffs beginThursday, Sept. 23 with two first-round single-elimination games on ESPN2.  Th e sixth-seeded Chicago Sky hosts the seventh-seeded Dallas Wings at 8 p.m. ET. The fifth-seeded Phoenix Mercury faces the eighth-seeded New York Liberty at 10 p.m. ET.

The 15 referees assigned to the playoffs:

  • Roy Gulbeyan (23 WNBA seasons)
  • Michael Price (22)
  • Eric Brewton (20)
  • Jeffrey Smith (20)
  • Amy Bonner (13)
  • Maj Forsberg (13)
  • Tim Greene (11)
  • Billy Smith (11)
  • Cheryl Flores (9)
  • Angelica Suffren (9)
  • Tiffany Bird (8)
  • Tiara Cruse (8)
  • Isaac Barnett (5)
  • Randy Richardson (4)
  • Dannica Mosher (2)
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

NCAA penalizes Georgia Tech with a fine and three years probation

Read Next

Copper leads as Chicago Sky hold off Dallas Wings in first round of WNBA Playoffs 81-64