The first 2023 Wade Trophy Award watch list announced

Last season’s Wade Trophy winner, Aliyah Boston (South Carolina), headlines the candidates for the 2023 Wade Trophy. Presented by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBC), the honor goes to the best player in women’s college basketball.

Sixteen other players are on the list including 2022 WBCA Coaches’ All-Americans Cameron Brink and Haley Jones of Stanford, Caitlin Clark of Iowa, Ashley Joens of Iowa State, and Elizabeth Kitley of Virginia Tech. Last season’s 2022 WBCA NCAA Division I Freshman of the Year, Aneesah Morrow of DePaul, is also on the watch list.

The WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Selection Committee composes the list and will review the candidates midseason to determine if additional players will be added based on their play during the first half of the season.

The complete 2022-23 Preseason Wade Watch list:

Name Institution Position Height Current Year
Grace Berger Indiana G 6-0 5th Yr.
Aliyah Boston South Carolina F 6-5 Sr.
Cameron Brink Stanford F 6-4 Jr.
Caitlin Clark Iowa G 6-0 Jr.
Monika Czinano Iowa F/C 6-3 5th Yr.
Azzi Fudd Connecticut G 5-11 Soph.
Rori Harmon Texas G 5-6 Soph.
Ashley Joens Iowa State G/F 6-1 Sr.
Haley Jones Stanford G 6-1 Sr.
Elizabeth Kitley Virginia Tech C 6-6 Sr.
Olivia Miles Notre Dame G 5-10 Soph.
Aneesah Morrow DePaul F 6-1 Soph.
Angel Reese LSU F 6-3 Soph.
Jacy Sheldon Ohio State G 5-10 Sr.
Maddy Siegrist Villanova F 6-1 Sr.
Hailey Van Lith Louisville G 5-7 Jr.

The Wade Trophy — now in its 46th year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

NCAA announces cities selected to host the Final Four from 2027 through 2031

Read Next

The 2023 WNBA regular season begins Friday, May 19

Data powered by Oddspedia