Saturday, March 28th, 2020

Notre Dame and UConn have three players each on preseason "Wade Watch" list

Published on August 23, 2011


The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association released the preseason “Wade Watch” list today featuring 25 athletes with three players from Notre Dame and Connecticut represented. An annual award, the Wade Trophy is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. The winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention which is held in conjunction with the 2012 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Denver.

Notre Dame’s Skylar Diggins, Natalie Novosel and Devereaux Peters are included as well as Connecticut’s Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley and Tiffany Hayes.

Other teams with more than one player include Baylor (Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims), Miami (Shenise Johnson and Riquna Williams), Stanford (sisters Chiney Ogwumike and Nneka Ogwumike) and Tennessee (Glory Johnson and Shekinna Stricklen).

Hayes, Nneka Ogumike and Stricklen appear on the “Wade Watch” list for the third straight year. Delaware’s Elena Della Donne, DePaul’s Keisha Hampton and Georgetown’s Sugar Rodgers join Diggins, Griner, Shenise Johnson and Williams are on the list for the second straight year.

The Big East Conference dominates the list with nine players, followed by the Big 12 Conference with four, the Atlantic Coast, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences with three each, the Big Ten Conference with two, and the Colonial Athletic Conference with one.

Complete list

Player School Position Class
LaSondra Barrett Louisiana State Forward Senior
Alex Bentley Penn State Guard Junior
Cierra Bravard Florida State Forward Senior
Carolyn Davis Kansas Forward Junior
Elena Delle Donne Delaware Forward Junior
Skylar Diggins Notre Dame Guard Junior
Jasmine Dixon UCLA Forward Senior
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Sophomore
Brittney Griner Baylor Post Junior
Keisha Hampton DePaul Forward Senior
Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Sophomore
Tiffany Hayes Connecticut Guard Senior
Glory Johnson Tennessee Forward Senior
Shenise Johnson Miami Guard Senior
Natalie Novosel Notre Dame Guard Senior
Chiney Ogwumike Stanford Forward Sophomore
Nneka Ogwumike Stanford Forward Senior
Devereaux Peters Notre Dame Forward Senior
Jamie Printy Iowa Guard Junior
Monique Reid Louisville Forward Senior
Sugar Rodgers Georgetown Guard Junior
Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Sophomore
Shekinna Stricklen Tennessee Guard Senior
Tyra White Texas A&M Guard Senior
Riquna Williams Miami Guard Senior



Readers Comments (1)

  1. Anna says:

    Dolson and Hartley from uconn are sophomores, not juniors. Go huskies!

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: