Two coaches and four players make up Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Danielle Adams and Gary Blair after Texas A&M's victory at the 2011 NCAA Championships.
Danielle Adams and Gary Blair after Texas A&M’s victory at the 2011 NCAA Championships.

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 2013 inductees during the exhibition game between the women’s national teams of Brazil and the USA Monday night.

The 2013 class:

  • Gary Blair (coach)
  • Jim Foster (coach)
  • Peggie Gillom-Granderson (player)
  • Jennifer Rizzotti (player)
  • Annette Smith-Knight (player)
  • Sue Wicks (player)

“The honor is humbling, and I feel I should be thanking players, assistant coaches and administrators for their belief in me instead of receiving accolades for what I consider a team award,” said Gary Blair about the honor. “The roll call of people that are in the Hall of Fame is mind boggling. So many of them have helped shape my life in coaching as mentors, role models and players I have had an opportunity to coach or compete against. Their legacy, the love of the game and the love of my players keeps me driven. I am thankful to continue to Build Champions here at Texas A&M.”

Under Blair the Aggies won the program’s first national championship in 2011. The Class of 2013 will be formally introduced at the 2012 State Farm Tip-Off Classic between Baylor and Kentucky on November 13 in Waco, TX

In order to be considered for selection for induction, an individual must meet the following prerequisites:

  • Player: Must be retired from the highest level of play for at least five years
  • Coach: Must have coached the women’s game at least 20 years
  • Referee: Must have officiated the women’s game at least 10 years
  • Contributor: Must have significantly impacted the game of women’s basketball
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan scrimmaged with the USA women at practice on July 15, 2012

Read Next

Brazil no match for USA in exhibition, suffers 99-67 rout