2015 USA Basketball Women’s World University Games team announced

The 12-member roster for the 2015 USA Basketball Women’s World University Games Team is set following three days of trials that featured 51 athletes at the United States Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

  • Jordin Canada (UCLA/Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Diamond DeShields (Tennessee/Norcross, Ga.)
  • Rebecca Greenwell(Duke/Owensboro, Ky.)
  • Erica McCall (Stanford/Bakersfield, Calif.)
  • Mercedes Russell (Tennessee/Springfield, Ore.).
  • Nina Davis (Baylor/Memphis, Tenn.)
  • Chanise Jenkins (DePaul/Chicago, Ill.)
  • Brionna Jones (Maryland/Havre de Grace, Md.)
  • Aerial Powers (Michigan State/Detroit, Mich.)
  • Courtney Range (California/Manteca, Calif.)
  • Sydney Wiese (Oregon State/Phoenix, Ariz.)
  • Courtney Williams (South Florida/Folkston, Ga.)

Northwestern University head coach Joe McKeown will lead the 2015 USA Women’s World University Games Team, and he will be assisted by Holly Warlick from the University of Tennessee and Tanya Warren from the University of Northern Iowa.

“Well, I am really excited,” McKeown said. “I feel like we have tremendous talent and balance. We have size, we have quickness and the ability to score the basketball a high level. The challenge will be, obviously, to blend everybody together. But I feel like we have a real unselfish group, and it is going to be a lot of fun.”

Players eligible for the 2015 USA World University Games teams must be U.S. citizens who currently are enrolled as full-time college students with remaining eligibility for the 2015-16 school year.

The USA players and coaches for the 2015 USA World University Games Team will return to Colorado Springs for training camp on June 18-July 2, before departing for the event. The 2015 World University Games women’s basketball competition will be held July 4-13 in Gwangju, South Korea.

The USA women were drawn into Group C and will play Italy on July 5, China on July 6 and Czech Republic on July 7. Playing in Group A will be Canada, Hungary, Mozambique and South Korea; Group B includes Japan, Mexico, Russia and Sweden; and Group D features Australia, Brazil, Taipei and Uganda.

The quarterfinals will be played on July 9, the semifinals are on July 11, the bronze medal game is on July 12 and the gold medal game is set for July 13.

Held every other year, the World University Games is organized by the International University Sports Federation (FISU). The WUGs are a multi-sport competition open to men and women who are between the ages of 17 and 24 (born between 1/1/88 and 12/31/98), who are enrolled as a full-time college student with remaining eligibility for the 2015-16 school year.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

2015 U.S. Pan American Games team announced

Read Next

Hoopfeed Daily Twitter Digest for 05-17-2015


Comments are closed.