John R. Wooden Award announces list of 2016-17 Preseason Top 30

The John R. Wooden Award announced the Women’s Preseason Top 30 today. The list includes student-athletes who are the early front-runners for the honor. The list is chosen by a preseason poll of national women’s college basketball media members.

Seven conferences are represented on the list. The ACC has the most selections at ten, followed by the Big Ten, Pac-12 and SEC with five each. The American and Big 12 each have two selections and the Big East has one pick. Among the student-athletes on the list, 27 out of 30 are upperclassmen, including 15 seniors. No freshman made the list.

Players not chosen to the preseason list are eligible for the midseason list, the late season list and the National Ballot. The National Ballot consists of 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation’s top five players, will be announced the week of the Final Four.

Lindsay AllenNotre DameACC5-8Sr.G
Kristine AnigweCaliforniaPac-126-4Soph.C/F
Jordin CanadaUCLAPac-125-6Jr.G
Alaina CoatesSouth CarolinaSEC6-4Sr.C
Nia CoffeyNorthwesternBig Ten6-1Sr.F
Nina DavisBaylorBig 125-11Sr.F
Diamond DeShieldsTennesseeSEC6-1Jr.G
Asia DurrLouisvilleACC5-10Soph.G
Makayla EppsKentuckySEC5-10Sr.G
Katelynn FlahertyMichiganBig Ten5-7Jr.G
Rebecca GreenwellDukeACC6-1Jr.G
Myisha Hines-AllenLouisvilleACC6-2Jr.F
Jessica JanuaryDePaulBig East5-7Sr.G
Alexis JonesBaylorBig 125-9Sr.G
Brionna JonesMarylandBig Ten6-3Sr.C
Erica McCallStanfordPac-126-3Sr.F
Kelsey MitchellOhio StateBig Ten5-8Jr.G
Mariya MooreLouisvilleACC6-0Jr.F
Adrienne MotleyMiamiACC5-9Sr.G
Kia NurseConnecticutThe American6-0Jr.G
Alexis PetersonSyracuseACC5-7Sr.G
Kelsey PlumWashingtonPac-125-8Sr.G
Leticia RomeroFlorida StateACC5-8Sr.G
Katie Lou SamuelsonConnecticutThe American6-3Soph.G/F
Shakayla ThomasFlorida StateACC5-11Jr.F
Brianna TurnerNotre DameACC6-3Jr.F
Victoria ViviansMississippi StateSEC6-1Jr.G
Shatori Walker-KimbroughMarylandBig Ten5-11Sr.G
Sydney WieseOregon StatePac-126-1Sr.G
A'ja WilsonSouth CarolinaSEC6-5Jr.F
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

UConn at Notre Dame: Top Two Teams Set to Clash Wednesday

Read Next

Susan Robinson Fruchtl among 2017 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award recipients