Monday, October 26th, 2020

NCAA announces DI championship regional sites for 2019 and 2020

Published on April 18, 2017


Image: NCAA

From the NCAA:

  • The NCAA has awarded Division I Women’s Basketball Championship hosting duties to seven cities for regional play in 2019 and 2020, with five of the seven arenas hosting the championship for the first time.
  • Selected to host regionals in 2019 are Albany, New York (Times Union Center), Chicago (Wintrust Arena), Greensboro, North Carolina (Greensboro Coliseum) and Portland, Oregon (Moda Center), with play taking place March 29-April 1.  Albany, which also will serve as a regional host site in 2018, will be hosting for the third time, while Greensboro will be hosting its fifth regional. Wintrust Arena, as well as the Moda Center, will be hosting the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship games for the first time.
  • In 2020, Fort Wayne, Indiana (Allen County War Memorial Coliseum), Greenville, South Carolina (Bon Secours Wellness Arena), Portland (Moda Center) and Dallas (Moody Coliseum) will serve as the four regional sites March 27-30.  Bon Secours Wellness Arena, Allen County War Memorial Coliseum and Moody Coliseum will be first-time hosts.
  • The 2018 regional sites were announced in 2014: Albany, NY (Times Union Center, Host: MAAC): Kansas City, MO (Sprint Center, Host: Big 12); Lexington, KY (Rupp Arena, Host: Kentucky); Spokane, WA (Veterans Memorial Arena, Host: Idaho)


2019 Regional Sites
City Venue Dates Host
Albany, N.Y. Times Union Center March 29 – April 1 MAAC
Chicago, Ill. Wintrust Arena March 29 – April 1 DePaul
Greensboro, N.C. Greensboro Coliseum March 29 – April 1 ACC
Portland, Ore. Moda Center March 29 – April 1 Oregon State


2020 Regional Sites
City Venue Dates Host
Greenville, S.C. Bon Secours Wellness Arena March 27-30 Southern Conference
Fort Wayne, Ind. Allen County War Memorial Coliseum March 27-30 IPFW
Portland, Ore. Moda Center March 27-30 Oregon State
Dallas, Texas Moody Coliseum March 27-30 SMU

Women’s Final Four sites were already selected through 2020.

2018 Columbus, OH Nationwide Arena March 30 & April 1
2019 Tampa Bay Amalie Arena April 5 & 7
2020 New Orleans Smoothie King Center April 3 & 5


Readers Comments (0)

Comments are closed.


Sign up for Hoopfeed's Weekly Newsletter

* = required field





%d bloggers like this: