Watch list announced for the inaugural Ann Meyers Drysdale Award

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the 20 watch list candidates for the inaugural Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. The annual award will recognize the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

“Ann Meyers dominated the basketball court as a standout for UCLA, surpassing records held by both men and women at the basketball powerhouse university,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Recognized as the only woman to sign a contract with an NBA team, Ann has been a shining example of character and skill and we are so pleased to announce this award bearing her name.”

The award selection committee is composed of media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list will be narrowed to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

“It is an honor to be associated with this award identifying the best in the collegiate game today,” said Ann Meyers Drysdale, a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “The shooting guards on this list have worked tirelessly to earn a spot on this esteemed watch list and it’s nice to see the Basketball Hall of Fame recognize them for their efforts.”

The winner of award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award.

2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates

Darby Maggard Belmont
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut
Ashton Millender DePaul
Rebecca Greenwell Duke
Asia Durr Louisville
Chloe Jackson LSU
Natisha Hiedeman Marquette
Allazia Blockton Marquette
Kaila Charles Maryland
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame
Lexi Bando Oregon
Jovana Nogic Providence
Jaycee Bradley South Dakota
Kitija Laksa South Florida
Akina Wellere St. John’s
Brittany McPhee Stanford
Danni Williams Texas A&M
Kennedy Burke UCLA
Tynice Martin West Virginia
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Watch list for 2018 Nancy Lieberman Award announced

Read Next

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, WBCA announce candidates for inaugural Cheryl Miller Award

Data powered by Oddspedia