2017-18 U.S. Basketball Writers Women’s All-America Teams announced

Five players representing five different conferences were named to the 2017-18 U.S. Basketball Writers Women’s All-America first team. The 31st annual team also honors six players on its second team as there was a tie in the voting.

The All-America selections, chosen by a vote of the entire USBWA membership, will contend for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award as the USBWA’s National Player of the Year. The winner, along with the national coach and freshman player of the year, will be announced Friday at 3 p.m. ET in Columbus, Ohio, the site of the 2018 Women’s Final Four.

2017-18 USBWA Women’s All-America Team

First Team
Asia Durr, Louisville (G, 5-10, Jr., Douglasville, Ga.)
Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (G, 5-11, So., Walnut Creek, Calif.)
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State (G, 5-8, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Katie Lou Samuelson, UConn (G/F, 6-3, Jr., Huntington Beach, Calif.)
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina (F, 6-5, Sr., Hopkins, S.C.)

Second Team
Kalani Brown, Baylor (C, 6-7, Jr., Slidell, La.)
Jordin Canada, UCLA (G, 5-6, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif.)
Megan Gustafson, Iowa (F, 6-3, Jr., Port Wing, Wis.)
Arike Ogunbowale, Notre Dame (G, 5-8, Jr., Milwaukee, Wis.)
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State (G, 6-1, Sr., Carthage, Miss.)
Gabby Williams, UConn (F, 5-11, Sr., Sparks, Nev.)

By class: Seniors (5); Juniors (5); Sophomores (1).
By conference: ACC (2); American Athletic (2); Big Ten (2); Pac-12 (2); SEC (2); Big 12 (1).

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Hoopfeed Weekly Twitter Digest for 03-19-2018

Read Next

Final Four matchups set; No. 1 seeds ready to battle for the championship

Data powered by Oddspedia