WBCA announces class for the 17th annual “So You Want To Be A Coach” program

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) in partnership with partnership with WeCOACH, announced the class for the 17th annual “So You Want To Be A Coach” program. Each participant will attend a three-day workshop during the WBCA Convention, April 3-5, in Tampa Bay, Florida. WeCOACH is a membership organization dedicated to supporting female coaches across all sports and levels.

Per the WBCA, the program aims to “increase the understanding and application of skills necessary to secure coaching positions in women’s basketball, increase the understanding and awareness of competencies necessary for success in coaching, introduce female basketball players to coaches and administrators, and raise awareness of the existing talent pool of female basketball players who have a passion and interest in coaching the game of women’s basketball.”

“’So You Want To Be A Coach’ is the longest-running education program the WBCA offers, and it remains as popular with member coaches and student-athletes today as it was when it began 16 years ago,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. “’So’ is the entry point for women’s basketball players who want to coach. Because of their participation in it, more than 400 former college women’s basketball players are currently working as coaches or in some role in our sport.”

The program has graduated 874 participants in its 16-year history.

Eligibility requirements:

Qualified candidates must have exhausted their final year of basketball eligibility at a four-year institution or have graduated within the past year. In addition, the candidate’s head coach has to nominate them and must be an active WBCA member. Each participant is selected based on her academics, contributions to women’s basketball on and off the court, professional resume and a written recommendation from their head coach.

The 2019 “So You Want To Be A Coach” program class:

Name Institution Division
Erica Balman Monmouth University NCAA I
Ali Bettencourt Univ. of Wisconsin-Parkside NCAA II
Briana Betz-White Loyola University NCAA I
Morgan Birmelin DeSales University NCAA III
Rachel Blackburn Univ. of Nebraska NCAA I
Anna Lee Bollinger Brevard College NCAA III
Megan Brown Univ. of Southern Mississippi NCAA I
Taje Burston Coppin State University NCAA I
Chrijaun Carter McPherson College NAIA
Princess Davis Texas A&M Univ.- Commerce NCAA II
Tania Davis Univ. of Iowa NCAA I
Danielle Edwards Clemson University NCAA I
Christina Ekhomu Northern Illinois University NCAA II
Mekaela Fithian-Giantonio Nichols College NCAA III
Sierra Gerald University of Bridgeport NCAA II
Destiny Graham University of Arizona NCAA I
Kelly Guarino NJ Institute of Technology NCAA 1
Meredith Hamlet Valparaiso University NCAA I
Catherine Harrison Middlebury College NCAA III
Felecity Haven University of Mount Olive NCAA II
Kaity Healy Seton Hall NCAA I
Jace Henderson University of Montana NCAA I
Kaitlin Hogan Birmingham Southern College NCAA III
Rosemary Ilang Longwood University NCAA I
Hannah Johnson University of Washington NCAA I
Tessa Johnston Emory & Henry College NCAA III
Becca Jonas Drake University NCAA I
Paris Jones Univ. of California- Santa Barbara NCAA I
Cy Lippold Dartmouth College NCAA I
Mikayla Lopez Augustana College NCAA III
Olivia Luu William Jessup University NAIA
Darby Maggard Belmont University NCAA I
Ariel Massengale University of Mississippi NCAA I
Shannon Mathis University of Texas at Dallas NCAA III
MacKenzi Matthews Baldwin Wallace University NCAA III
Aryn McClure Quinnipiac University NCAA I
Bailey McDevitt Linfield College NCAA III
Francesca Minali Georgia State University NCAA I
Maci Morris University of Kentucky NCAA I
Abby Nakfoor Ferris State University NCAA II
Kacie O’Connor Wayne State College NCAA II
Amy Okonkwo Texas Christian University NCAA I
Julie Raeder Cardinal Stritch University NAIA
Khadaizha Sanders Rutgers University NCAA I
Laramie Schwenke Idaho State University NCAA I
Shandricka Sessom University of Mississippi NCAA I
Harper Sheets Hastings College NAIA
Madeline Simon University of Nebraska NCAA I
Jasmine Sina St. John’s University NCAA I
Kennedi Thompson Binghamton University NCAA I
Ali Trani Univ. of North Carolina at Asheville NCAA I
Alexis Uffman Columbia College (MD) NAIA
Taylor Vasa Briar Cliff University NAIA
Emily Vogelpohl Wright State University NCAA I
Destinee Walker Radford University NCAA I
Jasmyn Walker Western Michigan University NCAA I
Makayla Waterman Ohio State University NCAA I
Harlyn Wyatt Tulane University NCAA I
Isis Young Syracuse University NCAA I
Emily Ziese Peru State College NAIA
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

New York Liberty has a new owner: Joe Tsai

Read Next

McDonald’s All American Games rosters announced; South Carolina and Stanford have most number of commits on teams