Midseason Watch List for 2019 Dawn Staley Award revealed

Kelsey Mitchell receives the 2019 Dawn Staley Award. Photo: Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.
Kelsey Mitchell receives the 2018 Dawn Staley Award. Photo: Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.

The Phoenix Club of Philadelphia announced the Midseason Watch List for the 2019 Dawn Staley Award. Established in 2013, the honor recognizes the nation’s best guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Named after women’s basketball legend and Hall of Famer Dawn Staley, the award is given to a player “who exemplifies the skills that Dawn possessed throughout her career: ball handling, scoring, her ability to distribute the basketball and her will to win.”

Four finalists will be revealed in mid-March and the winner will be announced during the weekend of the Final Four.

2019 Dawn Staley Award Midseason Watch List

Aari McDonald Arizona
Tyasha Harris South Carolina
Cierra Dillard Buffalo
Katie Lou Samuelson Connecticut
Kenisha Bell Minnesota
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame
Sophie Cunningham Missouri
Asia Durr Louisville
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse
Shakyla Hill Grambling State
Shania Johnson Stony Brook
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M
Te’a Cooper South Carolina
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon
Crystal Dangerfield Connecticut

Previous Winners

  • 2018 Kelsey Mitchell
  • 2017 Kelsey Plum
  • 2016 Moriah Jefferson
  • 2015 Tiffany Mitchell
  • 2014 Odyssey Sims
  • 2013 Skylar Diggins
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

The 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team announced

Read Next

Baylor, Louisville, Oregon and Mississippi State named top seeds in first 2019 NCAA DI Top 16 reveal

Data powered by Oddspedia