Finalists for 2019 Dawn Staley Award revealed

Kelsey Mitchell receives the 2019 Dawn Staley Award. Photo: Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.
Kelsey Mitchell receives the 2018 Dawn Staley Award. Photo: Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.

The Phoenix Club of Philadelphia announced the finalists the 2019 Dawn Staley Award. Established in 2013, the honor recognizes the nation’s best guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Named after women’s basketball legend and Hall of Famer Dawn Staley, the award is given to a player “who exemplifies the skills that Dawn possessed throughout her career: ball handling, scoring, her ability to distribute the basketball and her will to win.”

The winner will be announced during the weekend of the Final Four. Staley will present the award during a reception Thursday, April 11, 2019 at the prestigious Union League of Philadelphia.

2019 Dawn Staley Award Midseason Watch List

Cierra Dillard Buffalo
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame
Asia Durr Louisville
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon

Previous Winners

  • 2018 Kelsey Mitchell
  • 2017 Kelsey Plum
  • 2016 Moriah Jefferson
  • 2015 Tiffany Mitchell
  • 2014 Odyssey Sims
  • 2013 Skylar Diggins
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Conference champs fare well in Sport Tours International/Hoopfeed NCAA DI Top 25 Poll for 3/12/19

Read Next

Rutgers: C. Vivian Stringer to remain on leave for rest of season

Data powered by Oddspedia