The 2020 Dawn Staley Award Mid-Season Watch List

Image: Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.

The Phoenix Club of Philadelphia announced the 2020 Dawn Staley Award Announces its Mid-season 2020 Watch List. Established in 2013, the honor recognizes the nation’s best guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Named after women’s basketball legend and Hall of Famer Dawn Staley, the award is given to a player “who exemplifies the skills that Dawn possessed throughout her career: ball handling, scoring, her ability to distribute the basketball and her will to win.”

Four finalists will be announced in Mid-March and the winner will be announced the weekend of the Final Four. The award event will be held at the Union League Thursday, April 9.

Player University
Stella Johnson Rider University
Rhyne Howard University of Kentucky
Aari Mc Donald University of Arizona
Dana Evans University of Louisville
Chanette Hicks Norfolk State University
Sabrina Ionescu University of Oregon
Tyasha Harris University of South Carolina
Zia Cooke University of South Carolina
Crystal Dangerfield University of Connecticut
Dyaisha Fair University of Buffalo
Chelsea Dungee University of Arkansas
Kathleen Doyle University of Iowa
Te’ a Cooper Baylor University
Destiny Slocum Oregon State University
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M University

Previous Winners

  • 2019 Asia Durr
  • 2018 Kelsey Mitchell
  • 2017 Kelsey Plum
  • 2016 Moriah Jefferson
  • 2015 Tiffany Mitchell
  • 2014 Odyssey Sims
  • 2013 Skylar Diggins
Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

STI/Hoopfeed Poll for 2/4/20: After losing to Oregon, UConn drops out of top five; South Carolina maintains grip at No. 1

Read Next

Rosters set for training camps for Women’s 3×3 Olympic Qualifying Tournament teams

Data powered by Oddspedia